Seeking impressions of 2011 17" Pro owners

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by RLRabb, Jul 18, 2011.

1. RLRabb macrumors newbie

I'm considering the purchase of a 17 inch MacBook Pro to replace a 2007 15 inch Pro and am interested in the impressions of other users of this model. I'm a writer and don't do anything taxing, but I like the advantages when I'm working that a larger screen offers. I spent several hours at the Apple Store using both the 17 and 15 inch models, and I was very impressed with the anti-glare models of each. But there are some things you can't really evaluate in that setting. So for people who own the 17" 2011 model, any input about real-world battery life, heat, fan noise, screen quality or backlighting, and the like would be welcome.
    Is it a great machine? It certainly was nice to test drive.

--Roger

2. Enori macrumors member

Really great machine;) I doubt you will ever hear fans running when browsing and writing, it gets hot and loud only when you do cpu intensive tasks. I use program (gfxcardstatus) to force using only integrated graphic chipset and I usually get about 6 hours when I am browsing, downloading, transcoding few short movie projects. Screen real estate is really awesome, my previous notebook was Macbook Air 11" and I'm very happy with this upgrade.

3. Sankersizzle macrumors 6502a

Sankersizzle

If you're not going to be doing anything too crazy, you can always check out a refurb 2010 model. Contrary to the poster up there ^ with the 2011, I routinely get 9 hours of text editing/music playing/downloading/converting out of my 2010 17". My father has the "baller" trim 17" 2011, and he can get the 9 hours as well, but only if he just sits and looks at the screen.