Seemingly rare screen problem on Alu iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by 156457, May 25, 2009.

  1. 156457 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hi there,

    I own an Aluminium 2.8Ghz iMac7,1 (Bought it December 07) and it's always ran beautifully since and I've never had much of an issue with it.

    So anyway, this could of been happening since I got it but more recently I've noticed that when the computer gets warm, extremely thin (we're talking half a mm here), faint lines appear across the screen. I've googled the issue to death but nothing comes up, I just get people who have quite thick dark lines across the screen, this is different. It seems to be isolated to a certain area of the screen:
    [​IMG]

    Now, I'm out of warranty and I'm worried this could be a sign of screen failure soon. I have an external monitor hooked up and that doesn't have the same issue.

    If anyone could be of any help as to why this happens, and whether it is actually because of heat or not that would be great.

    Nick

    (I would take photos but they're that small they wouldn't show up on a camera I don't think, I will try later though. They just always distract my eye and it's so annoying!)

    Oh, and funnily enough I've just noticed/ended up with a dead/stuck pixel in the middle of the screen... :mad:!
     
  2. JayLenochiniMac macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
    #2
    Did you purchase it using a credit card that doubles the warranty? If so, it's covered and file a claim through your CC company. If you're not sure, check the terms of your CC agreement or call them up.
     
  3. 156457 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    I actually got it for Christmas from my Dad who bought it on a Spanish debit card (he lives there, but the iMac was bought in Sheffield, UK), so I wouldn't really know.

    Thanks for the suggestion.
     
  4. 156457 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    UK
  5. macindork macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    #5
    the area of the box occupies the CPU, you may take a can of compressed air and blow it out (via the grate on the bottom of the iMac)...
     
  6. 156457 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Sorry, maybe I'm just tired but to me that sounded like you were telling me to blow the CPU out? :p
     
  7. macindork macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    #7
    Haha...oops. I meant blow any dust and debris out...:eek:
     
  8. 156457 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    I'll give it a try, thanks!

    Anymore suggestions from anyone? Is this a common problem? Explanations? This really bugs me!
     

Share This Page