Sega CD / Mega CD Emulator for Mac

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by PabloGS, Dec 25, 2008.

  1. PabloGS macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Europe
    #1
    I know this has been discussed before: Old Thread and now it's become a reality! Eat this Bannister! Steve Snake rules!! :D

    Check it out:

    http://kega.eidolons-inn.net/

    From the site description:

    Fusion is a Sega SG1000, SC3000, Master System, Game Gear, Genesis/Megadrive, SVP, Pico, SegaCD/MegaCD and 32X emulator for Win9x/ME/2000/XP/Vista and Mac OSX/Intel by Steve Snake

    Merry Christmas!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. fiercetiger224 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    #2
    HOLY SHIZZLE! I'm totally downloading this! :D
     
  3. PabloGS thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Europe
    #3
    Well ^^ Spread the word :cool:
     
  4. fiercetiger224 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    #4
    All I have to say is: WOW. This is the FIRST release of Kega Fusion for Mac, and it simply runs well. It runs everything in full perfection so far with every game I've tried, with no frame dips.

    Things that I've noticed:

    • Sound is not accurate in 32X games (compared to Gens, or the real thing in general, but it does sound good. I always want accuracy in emulation as opposed to making things better).
    • Mouse pointer still visible in full-screen mode.
    • Sega CD games need to be in full ISOs with music contained inside of them (Gens on Windows can run ISO with mp3 music files).

    But wow, I've been waiting for this. Oh, and luckily today I was actually searching for a Sega CD and 32X emulator for OS X, and luckily I ran across this! Thanks a lot for posting this! :D
     
  5. PabloGS thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Europe
    #5
    Kega simply is the best... No need for another stolen version of Gens. It should've never been made GPL. Just look what happened to it!?!? And have we seen a real Mac port of it? No! And Bannister charging money for his Emu Enhancer? That's just plain lame.

    Don't know what you mean. Any examples? Sound is 100% accurate on my MBP here. Trust me, my ears are really good!

    Kega Fusion Mac doesn't have a real full-screen mode (yet). It's still lacking some features, just check the readme file included ;)

    Who hasn't? Now go leave the dev some kudos and a feedback on his site / forum ;)
    Official Kega Fusion Forum

    Now this news, I mean Kega for Mac, this should make the frontpage news :rolleyes: I've been waiting for this quite a while too

    Feliz Navidad
     
  6. fiercetiger224 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    #6
    Yeah I realize it's still missing some features. :p

    As for the sound, I have really good ears too, and Knuckles Chaotix seems to make the drumming sounds sound different. As for the rest of the games I've tested, the sound is accurate. It's just for Knuckles Chaotix for some reason... :confused:
     
  7. PabloGS thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Europe
    #7
    What kind of dump are you using? Is it a NTSC or PAL? Tried switching the country while running the Game? That might increase or decrease sound speed by 13% Go to the sound test menu and check it out!!!

    It sounds like the real thing to me. Will need to find authentic recordings of Knuckles Chaotix tho and compare them.

    On a side note: Steve should move the full screen key combo from Alt + Enter to Command + Enter so it's more :apple: style ^^
     
  8. fiercetiger224 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    #8
    For Knuckles Chaotix, I've got both US and European dumps. They both sound the same, aside from the NTSC and PAL refresh rates. It's the way it sounds, not any sort of tempo change or anything.

    BTW, this is WAAAAAAAAY better than Genesis Plus and Generator. Bannister is getting some competition now eh?
     
  9. PabloGS thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Europe
    #9
    Maybe enable/disable overdrive and enable the sound filter? :confused:

    Speaking of filters: I love the GFX-filtes that come with it :D
     
  10. fiercetiger224 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    #10
    Tried already. Trust me, it doesn't sound like the the real thing. :rolleyes: Close though. But every other game I've tried so far, pretty much the real thing.
     
  11. PabloGS thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Europe
    #11
    The only thing I've noticed thusfar is a sligth GFX glitch with Flashback CD!

    Everything else? Sweet and purrfect :D

    My Rating? 9.9/10 (Knowing that there will be NetPlay and the other stuff coming sooner or later) ;)
     
  12. n8mac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
  13. fiercetiger224 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    #13
    Haha, I would have said that if this came out like when the first Intel Macs came out. But now, it's about time to upgrade. :rolleyes:

    Although I'm pretty sure that if there was a PPC version, only the G5s could run Sega CD and 32X games at full speed. 32X games already take a 1 core at 100%. I'm not sure if this Fusion is multithreaded though...
     
  14. PabloGS thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Europe
    #14
    Eh... Fusion is written in ASM for Intel CPUs and is therefor only possible on Intel Macs without a complete rewrite. As easy as 1, 2, 3! Nuff said and explained.

    Now, where were we? Ah... Yes...

    100% CPU time? :eek: Do you have sleep while waiting disabled? If so Fusion will use up all your CPU time! Make sure you have a check mark set!

    Does this help?
     
  15. fiercetiger224 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    #15
    Apparently I looked at the wrong process. It was QuickTime that took up 1 whole core, and actually 2. Fusion only takes up about 20-30% playing a 32X game. Hopefully Snake can implement Saturn support eventually if that's the case! :p
     
  16. PabloGS thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Europe
    #16
    I'd seriously doubt that as the Saturn is a completely different system than the Neptune with Sega CD, even though both systems are probably beasts to emulate :rolleyes:

    Nice dialogue btw... At least it's not a monologue, but where are all the others? :D
     
  17. savvos macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    #17
    Hi all,

    I tried loading up an iso of Vay and just get a black screen. Any suggestions? Do I need to compress it into a bin or something?
     
  18. PabloGS thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Europe
    #18
    A quick look at the readme would have helped...

    The ones who are able to read are clearly at an advantage :p

    So go figure :D Download a Model 1 BIOS, cause if you read on you will find, that the Model 2 or CDX BIOS doesn't work properly.

    N-Joy,

    Pablo
     
  19. Corrosive vinyl macrumors 6502

    Corrosive vinyl

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    #19
    i got mine to work but can't get further than the opening screen of the game, starts out then just goes black
     

Share This Page