Segate Expansion External Drive 1TB - Need Help!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by lizzieish, Jan 16, 2010.

  1. lizzieish macrumors newbie

    lizzieish

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hello everyone! I need some help with my new external hard drive I just got out the box!

    I bought the Seagate Drive and it's come with no instructions at all, just plug it in and go! However, I can see the drive, but when I try put anything in it it says

    "The item cannot be moved because "Expansion Drive" cannot be modified"

    So I panicked! Other people online have said how they use one with their Mac. Some people have mentioned about having to reformat something to make it work with Mac though?

    If anyone could tell me how to get it working with my Mac I would be so grateful!
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    As this drive was most probably formatted with NTFS (Windows file system, that can only be read by Mac OS X, not written to, unless you use NTFS-3G), you need to format it with HFS+ (Mac OS X Extended) with the help of Applications > Utilities > Disk Utility.

    If you wan to use that drive solely on Mac OS X that should suffice, but if you want to also be able to transfer files to Windows PCs, you could consider partitioning it.

    MRoogle will give you plenty of answers if you have any regarding the partition issue.
     
  3. lizzieish thread starter macrumors newbie

    lizzieish

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #3
  4. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #4
    From the Volume Scheme list select 1 partition and press the Partition button.

    Or select the disk1s1 on the left and click on the Erase tab and hit the Erase button.

    For both ways select Mac OS Extended (NOT Journaled) format.


    Or do you wanna have two partitions, one for Mac OS and one for Windows?
     
  5. lizzieish thread starter macrumors newbie

    lizzieish

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    No I just want it to work on Mac.

    [​IMG]

    This has already scared the crap out of me once tonight as I clicked it and the icon for the hard drive vanished from my desktop - am I good to click?

    Thankyou for your help just really don't wanna break my new box!
     
  6. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #6
    There is no data of yours on that HDD, right?

    If so, click Partition.

    And the icon has to vanish, because the volume has to get inaccessible for the user to let the system do its work - rewrite the HDD with a new partition table so that you can write to it.

    After that is finished, after two minutes maximum, the icon reappears.

    You can also change the name if you want by right clicking on the HDD in Finder and selecting Get Info and entering a name in Name & Extension (Boot Camp in the following image).

    [​IMG]
     
  7. lizzieish thread starter macrumors newbie

    lizzieish

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Ok, I clicked it and it didn't do anything, I clicked off that screen then clicked back and it's like this again

    [​IMG]

    Like I haven't done anything? And my icon isn't back either :cool:
     
  8. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #8
    What exactly have you done?

    Option 1:

    or

    Option 2:

     
  9. lizzieish thread starter macrumors newbie

    lizzieish

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Location:
    UK
  10. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #10
    And you have selected 1 partition like in the following image is shown and circled with a red 3 above it?

    [​IMG]
    These are the steps to take in succession to properly format your drive.



    If that does not work, go to the Erase tab instead, but let 931.5GB Seagate Deskt... selected and hit the Erase button there after you selected a name and Mac OS Extended (NOT Journaled) as format.
     
  11. upaymeifixit macrumors 6502a

    upaymeifixit

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    #11
    This is fast paced, I'm just sitting and watching you guys go back and forth. Trust this guy, he's awesome.
     
  12. lizzieish thread starter macrumors newbie

    lizzieish

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Oh my God if I ever meet you I shall buy you a pint, I just did the erase thing and it works! Happy Lizzie!

    Thankyou SO much for your help I really was so stuck with it on my own!

    Thankyou again!!!
    :D:D:D:D:D
     
  13. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #13
    No problem, that's why (what) we are here (for). I think.

    Have a good night and greetings to that island you're sitting on. Haven't been there awhile.

    And to upaymefixit: Thanks, but that comment about my awesomeness, though flattering as it is, is a little bit exaggerated. But thanks nonetheless.
     
  14. upaymeifixit macrumors 6502a

    upaymeifixit

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    #14
    No problem, glad I could help! Just Kidding! :p

    Edit: He beat me to it!
     
  15. lizzieish thread starter macrumors newbie

    lizzieish

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    I also think you have awesomeness :)

    Going to go play with my new shiny box now!

    x
     
  16. GMW20, Dec 30, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2010

    GMW20 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Location:
    New York
  17. advenchurrr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    #17
    I also need help

    I have the same issue and have followed these steps and it still doesn't work. Can someone take me through step by step to sort this. I have a MacBook and wish to only use it on a Mac
     
  18. cloeymac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #18
    I have the same problem

    Hi,

    Ive read these responses. I have data on the drive that I dont want to loose. How do I partitiion the expansion drive so I can add stuff from my mac, without loosing what is already on there?

    Cheers
     
  19. Tullamore007 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    #19
    Cloeymac - Same problem

    Hey I have the same problem as Cloeymac. Am about to formatt my seagate as per the threads above but the Mac threatens to delete all my saved data existing on the Seagate. Any suggestions ?
     

Share This Page