Selecting folders with Migration Assistant

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jingletido, Jun 8, 2014.

  1. jingletido macrumors newbie

    jingletido

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    #1
    I just bought a new Macbook Air and want to use Migration Assistant to bring my user account from my iMac to the MBA. Will I be able to designate which folders in my home folder I want to transfer, or must I transfer the home folder in its entirety? I've never done this before. Thank you so much for any tips.
     
  2. Jhingha macrumors regular

    Jhingha

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
  3. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #3
    You have some control over what comes over. Before you start the migration you will get this screen where you can expand the user account and unselect the folders there you do not want to import.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. jingletido thread starter macrumors newbie

    jingletido

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    #4
    de-selecting folders for Migration Assistant

    Thank you very much for your response. I was hoping to be able to deselect Mail so Migration Assistant wouldn't migrate Mail. Long story, but I have a conflict between Mail, Spotlight and Time Machine that no one's been able to solve. I have a workaround that involves third party backup software for Mail. I'd like to not import whatever's messed up with Mail and Spotlight into my new MacAir. Would I have the Option to deselect Mail in my library folder and not have Mail migrated over to the new MBA?
    Many thanks for any advice.
     
  5. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Nope... sorry. The best you can do is uncheck those folders on that screen, but that won't stop Mail data from coming over.
     
  6. jingletido thread starter macrumors newbie

    jingletido

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    #6
    de-selecting folders for Migration Assistant

    Thanks, Weaselboy, for your helpful response. I think I'll opt to not use Migration Assistant, and to manually bring over my stuff. I know it's a big job, but I don't want to import the problem I have with Mail on my iMac into my brand new MBA. I appreciate your getting back to me.
     

Share This Page