Self assigned IP

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by kamik423, Jan 28, 2015.

  1. kamik423 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    #1
    Hello

    We had a meeting of our school robotics club, I brought my MacBookPro with me. When we moved around in the room for a while I plugged my mac into different ethernet cables, connected to the same network. Suddenly Internet pages didn't load anymore. I went into network preferences and it said "self assigned ip". Wifi just works fine. I've already tried most of the internet suggestions, but none really works. Also I don't have acces to the router/Server, since it is lovked away in our school.
    If anyone could help, that would be great!
    (Also I am in Germany if there is something different about the ethernet there...)
    I tried different cables, but it still doesn't work.

    Thank you
    Kamik423
     
  2. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #2
    Connect the cable, go into Network Preferences, select your ethernet connection and click "renew lease", if that doesnt get it working then it sounds like that cable isnt connected to a router issuing DHCP or it has run out of ip addresses to issue.
     
  3. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #3
    There can be myriad of reasons what is not working. You should talk to your school's IT service, its their job to solve these things.
     
  4. kamik423 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    #4
    Thanks for your answers first of all, but
    -I already tried "renew lease"
    -It is working fine for everybody else, even my friends laptop
    -I am the only mac at my school
    -The IT service doesn't have any idea how to help me. I already asked him
    (He obly said he could give me a static iP)
     
  5. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #5
    Probably have to live with WiFi then as you said that was working.
     
  6. kamik423 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
  7. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #7
    :confused:
     
  8. sporadicMotion macrumors 65816

    sporadicMotion

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    Your girlfriends place
    #8
    Do any of your classmates personal laptops work? Mac filtering could be enforced by your school.
     
  9. kamik423 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    #9
    My classmates (windows) laptops just work fine.
    The teacher who manages the server stuff has no idea what's going on. I asked him.
    Wifi works at home, but we don't have access to the schools system.
     
  10. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #10
    Has yours ever connected and worked, at school, via ethernet cable?

    If not, has your machine ever connected to anything via ethernet cable and worked?
     
  11. kamik423 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    #11
    Sorry, it has been quite a while,

    Ethernet at home works fine.
    I tried using manual IP, and used the one of the laptop I took the cable from. It says connected and showes the green dot. However loading a web page will tell me "not connected to the internet"

    Please help
     
  12. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #12
    Please go into System Preferences-Network pane, Advanced button, and see if in the DNS tab you are getting DNS that the Windows users are using.
     

Share This Page