Sell 1 TB Hard Drive as a blank or with Yosemite

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Sossity, Sep 10, 2018.

  1. Sossity macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    #1
    I have a 1 TB Western digital 3.5 inch hard drive that I pulled out of a Mac Pro computer. It was the main boot drive and i think it had OS X Yosemite on it.

    Since I replaced this with an SSD boot drive, I have no longer needed the Western digital drive.

    I thought of erasing it in disk utility and making it a fresh blank drive to sell on eBay, but then I thought should I leave the OS X Yosemite on it? and sell it as a boot drive?

    and if I wanted that OS, could I copy it onto a thumb drive to install on another mac? before I sell it?
     
  2. kohlson macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    #2
    Have you considered you may have personal information on this drive? I would erase it.
     
  3. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #3
    I'm with @kohlson ... I would erase it.

    I think anybody who would but it can figure out how to get the OS on there if they need it.
     
  4. Sossity thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    #4
    ok, sounds like a vote to erase it, right now, it is generic, it does not have any of my personal info, it is as it was setup for a new person when I bought the computer.

    If I copied the content from the drive before I erase to sell, onto a thumb drive, would it then be a bootable copy of OS X Yosemite that I could install on any mac?
     
  5. jaybar macrumors 6502a

    jaybar

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    #5
    It may be a violation of licensing to sell with OS. Check out EULA terms.
     
  6. Sossity thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    #6
    Ooh, did not think of that, thanks, looks like it is a vote to erase and sell as a blank hard drive.
     
  7. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Yes... if it is bootable now and you clone it to a thumb drive, that drive would also be bootable.
     

Share This Page