Sell 1st gen Mac Pro or upgrade internals?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Obsidian6, Jun 14, 2009.

1. Obsidian6 macrumors 6502a

Obsidian6

So I've been throwing this thought around for a while, but I'd be interested in hearing some feedback from other members about what you would do.

I've got the 2006 mac pro 2.66ghz, it has 5GB of ram (I know odd number, I'd like it to be an even 6 or 8) and It has the x1900 GPU. It's main purpose in life is my photo work-horse. I shoot with a 5DmkII (which gives a 21mp RAW file) and I work with those in Aperture and Photoshop CS4.

I do dabble a bit in Final Cut Studio 2, but I am by no means a pro at what that software is capable of.

I'm trying to decide if I should sell my Mac Pro and get a maxed out 24" iMac (the 3.06) or upgrade things on my mac pro to give it more power.

If I were to upgrade I would buy the new 4870 Radeon card from Apple because I hear that is leaps and bounds above my x1900 (which was already leaps and bounds above the sad 7300GT that was in it before!) I would also add more ram to round off at 6 or 8GB, and if there is enough left over I would also buy another Hard drive.

All those upgrades are out of pocket costs to me, if I were to sell my mac pro, I would be able to afford the cost of the iMac, (the added benefit of going that route is I would be able to keep my 23" Cinema Display and have dual monitors again.

I'd like to hear the community's thoughts on this. Bear in mind I don't hardly, if ever, play games on this system, I do surf the internet and use itunes and that sort of stuff, but it's main purpose in life is photo editing and cataloging. Just remember these are big raw files (23-30MB per image) ;)

2. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

bozz2006

definitely upgrade internals. I thought about it long and hard and the newer machines just aren't that much of an upgrade, if you take into account the amount of money you put into it.

3. Tesselator macrumors 601

Tesselator