Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Riviera122

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 14, 2008
I'm a school student and English essays are becoming more frequent. I have a brain disorder where the right half of my brain isn't as powerful as my left half, and as a result my left half is above average (which includes grammar and English).

I was diagnosed with NLD in 2006, and they recommend that I bring a laptop to school because it helps me cope with my poor handwriting skills and helps me get my ideas on paper. To help this, I bought an Advent Netbook, but I have been struggling to use it because of the keyboard being so cramped. I am also getting hand cramps which are painful.

I have used it for a couple of essays, but I don't like lugging the whole thing around with me because whenever I use it people stare at me, and because I get hand cramps after an hour or so of typing. I can imagine it being easier with an iPad because you just slip it out of a case, plug in the keyboard dock and start typing.

So, what do you all think?

PS: I'm in the 9th grade.

TL;DR:
I have an Advent netbook, but I don't like using it because of the cramped keyboard and overall design. I am considering getting an iPad for my essays instead.

EDIT: I would also use the iPad for home browsing whilst downstairs.

GoCubsGo

macrumors Nehalem
Feb 19, 2005
I don't think the iPad's keyboard is going to be any larger, will it?

shrimpdesign

macrumors 6502a
Dec 9, 2005
The wireless Bluetooth keyboard that Apple sells works with the iPad and I believe it's at least a bit larger than a netbook keyboard.

glxyjones

macrumors regular
Jun 29, 2007