Sell one, or both?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Manic Nimrod, Jul 6, 2012.

1. Manic Nimrod macrumors newbie

Hey all. I'd like some advice on what to do next.

I currently own a '09 iMac(21.5") and 2011 Macbook Air(11"). I am a graphic design student so i regularly use the adobe suite.

While the iMac run's fine, I have noticed a slowdown when running a couple of the adobe products. So, I would love to update it.

However, being a student, money becomes a problem.

I was thinking of selling the iMac and purchasing the next Mac Mini or just buying a large monitor and just use the Air as my main device at home and in the classroom.

Or

I could sell both and get a high end Pro and use that.

Any ideas? Thanks.

2. SandboxGeneral Moderator emeritus

SandboxGeneral

How much RAM does your iMac have? i bet you could get up to 6GB of RAM in it and that would go a long way in making the Adobe programs run better. I'm guessing you only have 2GB in it now, am I right?

If so, I'd recommend maxing out the RAM and see how it runs then. That would be the least expensive way to go altogether.

3. Manic Nimrod thread starter macrumors newbie

It has 4GB in, according to the box it can handle 16GB. (3.06GHz Intel Core 2 duo processor)

Would it make a large difference boosting it up to 8 or 16? :/

4. G5isAlive macrumors 6502

I agree with the comment regarding max out your ram... and if you are good with tools and patient another way to breath new life into an old iMac is to install an internal SSD, adobe will love it. I did that recently, it wasn't easy but was doable.

but I have to admit I am scratching my head on the concept of doing much of anything graphical in nature on an 11" macbook air. I love my macbook air, but it definitely gets slow when I run anything demanding on it in 3D. Adobe is not known for writing quick code.

So to go back to your original question, I would consider selling both and buying a new macbook pro.

----------