Selling iPhone 4 with jailbreak (process)

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by drew0020, Aug 27, 2010.

  1. drew0020 macrumors 68000

    drew0020

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    #1
    I decided to sell my jailbroken iPhone 4. I backed up my SHSH's 4.0.1 via Cydia. On the Cydia homepage it says my SHSH's are on file for 4.0.1 and 4.0.2.

    Can I still do a complete reset-erase all content and settings before I sell? Would the buyer be able to re-jailbreak the phone?

    Thanks!
     
  2. hackthatphone macrumors 68000

    hackthatphone

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #2
    Yeah erase all content. Restore back to 4.0.1 and rejailbreak it for the buyer is what I'd do.

    Supply the 4.0.1 SHSH to them as well.
     
  3. drew0020 thread starter macrumors 68000

    drew0020

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    #3
    How do I supply the SHSH 4.0.1 to the buyer? Sorry im new to this!
     
  4. Hervboo macrumors member

    Hervboo

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    #4
    Instead of doing a whole reset of the phone and re-jailbreaking, why not just hook up the phone to a different PC with no itunes content and sync the iPhone 4 to it. You will erase all of your files and apps, but keep the jailbreak.
     
  5. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #5
    SHSH blobs are store on Cydia server and are storage bu EDID, so when the "new" buyer hook it up to tinyumbrella he will see the SSH blobs for that phone (regardless who the owner is).

    If you used tinyumbrella yourself you can find the files at:

    MAC:

    /Users/<your username>/.shsh
    ex: /Users/semaphore/.shsh

    WINDOWS XP:

    <MAIN DRIVE>:\Documents and Settings\<username>\.shsh
    ex: C:\Documents and Settings\semaphore\.shsh

    WINDOWS 7:

    <MAIN DRIVE>:\Users\<username>\.shsh
    ex: C:\Users\semaphore\.shsh
     
  6. hackthatphone macrumors 68000

    hackthatphone

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #6
    This is not 100% for erasing all personal information. Not recommended if you are the paranoid type.

    If you want ALL your data off that phone, then you do the erase all content method.
     
  7. drew0020 thread starter macrumors 68000

    drew0020

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    #7
    Im on a Mac and I thought I used tinyumbrella. I didnt think I was going to sell the phone though, but anyway.

    I did users/myname/ but didnt see a .shsh file?

    Also, if I do a complete erase, what is the process for re-jailbreaking?
     
  8. Carlanga macrumors 604

    Carlanga

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #8
    they should be in there, check again? are you sure you have used tinyumbrella before?...

    once you are w/ 4.0.1 jb in the fresh install, then if you are really paranoid you should use saurik's app 'iwipe' to put ceros on you empty space....
     
  9. mlts22 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #9
    I would recommend doing a fairly longish, but thorough process:

    1: Make sure your data is backed up.
    2: restore to 4.0.2, activate. (don't need to do a DFU restore at this stage.)
    3: Use the erase all settings.
    4: DFU restore to 4.0.1.

    If one does the erase all settings with a JB-ed phone, often times, one is forced to do a DFU restore to get back to a usable device. Plus, this way, you know the device is empty of all data, and has a fresh, jailbreakable iOS copy for the person who buys the phone from you.
     
  10. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #10
    You can still use TU, since your Shsh are on cydia server, just download it, start the TSS server, get a copy of your firmware (4.0.1 - You should have one already if you update using that computer at USER/Library/iTunes/iPod Software Updates/), restore using iTunes and go to jailbreakme.com and you'll have clean jailbroken iphone to sell.
     
  11. drew0020 thread starter macrumors 68000

    drew0020

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    #11
    Im doing this now. Im just worried if I go to 4.0.2 I wont be able to go back to 4.0.1. I double checked with the Cydia icon and it said my 4.0.1 SHSH's are saved on their server. Ill report back in a few.
     
  12. drew0020 thread starter macrumors 68000

    drew0020

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    #12
    I reset the phone and put it into DFU mode. How do I start the TSS server now? Ugh im worried I really screwed this up!
     
  13. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #13
    You got your SHSH saved, relax you can't screw it up, there always a way to recover if something goes wrong as long as those Shsh are on cydia server.

    Just click on the botom that reads "start TSS server"

    [​IMG]
     
  14. drew0020 thread starter macrumors 68000

    drew0020

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    #14
    the button is greyed out. I found the .shsh file on my computer though. My iPhone 4 is currently in DFU mode if that helps.
     
  15. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #15
    Are you on Windows? if you are you need to run TU as administrator so the host file isn't lock.

    if that is not the case, just copy and paste here the output of TU, they only other time I've seen the bottom grayed out is when it can't find the SHSHs
     
  16. drew0020 thread starter macrumors 68000

    drew0020

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    #16
    Im using a Mac. My phone is in DFU mode and I opened tinyumbrella and it wont let me connect a device. I can display SHSH's though (it says my device can be restored safely). Im so confused... I should have just left the phone as is :(
     
  17. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #17
    Copy the exact output of TU here or make a screenshot we can see exactly what you are getting.

    It should read something like this:
    Code:
    Found [1] shsh files to cache... 08/27/2010 12:41:34.130 Cached [1] shsh files 
    08/27/2010 12:41:37.733 TSS Server has cached the following files: 08/27/2010 
    12:41:37.761 iPhone4 4.0.1 (8A306)-1806739369391 08/27/2010 12:41:37.781 
     
  18. drew0020 thread starter macrumors 68000

    drew0020

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    #18
    Is that when the phone is in DFU mode? This is what it says in DFU mode.

    08/27/2010 14:56:14.206 The Real Firmware Umbrella - v4.02.05 by semaphore 08/27/2010 14:56:14.213 For help click here 08/27/2010 14:56:14.218 Connect a device to continue... 08/27/2010 14:56:14.364 NOT running as administrator OR your hosts file is not editable - Cannot listen on port 80! TSS Server will not work! 08/27/2010 14:56:14.386 Caching shsh files... 08/27/2010 14:56:14.391 Found [2] shsh files to cache... 08/27/2010 14:56:15.035 Cached [2] shsh files 08/27/2010 14:56:15.383 You are using the current version of TinyUmbrella.
     
  19. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #19
    There is your Problem.....

    Somehow you are running TU without Administrator/Root level. Are you running TU straight from the .dmg??? you need to close TU, copy the .app to your Application Folder before you run it.

    Use the botom that say "kick device out recovery" and start over.

    connect your iPhone to the computer
    Let TU detect it, and send us a Screenshot of that TU is saying.
    At this point if you can enable the TSS server, go head and do so.
    Let TU running in the Background
    Open iTunes
    get iPhone on DFU move
    Do a 4.0.1 restore.
     
  20. drew0020 thread starter macrumors 68000

    drew0020

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    #20
    the kick button is greyed out also. Maybe it is something to do with pointing to the Cydia host file? I dont know how to do that though...
     
  21. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #21
    Are you running TU from the .dmg???? you need to installed on your machine, copy the binary to your Application folder first

    If that doesn't work just reboot your machine and re run TU, there is noting wrong with your phone, is your computer that somehow is not running as root, when you run TU you need to put your admin password, or it won't work
     
  22. drew0020 thread starter macrumors 68000

    drew0020

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    #22
    Ill restart the computer and get back here. Thanks for the help and sorry for being so slow with this. I copied TU to the applications folder. Still seeing this.

    08/27/2010 15:12:55.015 The Real Firmware Umbrella - v4.02.05 by semaphore 08/27/2010 15:12:55.021 For help click here 08/27/2010 15:12:55.024 Connect a device to continue... 08/27/2010 15:12:55.162 NOT running as administrator OR your hosts file is not editable - Cannot listen on port 80! TSS Server will not work! 08/27/2010 15:12:55.173 Caching shsh files... 08/27/2010 15:12:55.181 Found [2] shsh files to cache... 08/27/2010 15:12:55.822 Cached [2] shsh files 08/27/2010 15:12:56.128 You are using the current version of TinyUmbrella.

    Start TSS server and Kick device out of recovery are both greyed out.
     
  23. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #23
    Do you have another computer you can try this on?

    What type of user are you on this machine? Does it someone else use that same machine? maybe you have no root/admin access.

    That all I can think of right now, your phone is just fine, but your machine is not letting TU to run as root level, I am not sure what else could be running on your machine that could be stopping the application from root access.
     
  24. drew0020 thread starter macrumors 68000

    drew0020

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    #24
    I just bought a brand new 2010 iMac running 10.6.4. I have Windows installed but I am the only user of this computer. I have no idea whats wrong but I need to get this phone back to 4.0.1 ugh! I do not have another computer in my house. I dont understand why this is giving me such a problem??

    I did a time machine restore from backup when I purchased this and maybe that screwed it up?
     
  25. Carlanga macrumors 604

    Carlanga

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #25
    Relax you have your blobs w/ cydia!

    If you want to use TU: right click on the app and select get info, then at the bottom of the new window make sure that you gave to all people including admin access & write permissions and try it again!

    If not:
    chill you can still run it back w/out TU, just edit itunes to check to saurik instead of apple servers and presto!
    The procedure would be similar to this:
    http://jaxov.com/2010/07/downgrade-ios-4-1-to-ios-4-0-on-windows-mac/
     

Share This Page