Sellings domains. What is there to know?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by p0intblank, Jun 23, 2009.

1. p0intblank macrumors 68030

This is my first time selling domains to someone. After the payment is accepted, where do I go from there? I've moved domains before, but it was for personal use. Is there a step by step process I can easily follow? Any advice is appreciated!

2. Dal123 macrumors 6502a

Dal123

Interesting... I have a question also:
    A friend of mine has just paid £3,000 to have a website designed. It took 6 months for the web designer to complete it. Now he has realised he is paying £10 a month for his email and website.
    Is there a way to absorb the files from the website, and register a new domain (for free). Any ideas??

3. steve knight macrumors 68020

steve knight

he can go to another host. you can get pretty cheap ones. does he own the domain name? if not then he would have to buy one then fix the site to reflect the changes.

4. Dal123 macrumors 6502a

Dal123

I'm not sure, how would he get the files. I assume the web designer would have it written in his contract that he owns the files (so he can charge £10 a month indeffinitely ) quite a nice earner.

5. eleven2brett macrumors regular

Check the designer's contract or website to see if your friend has to keep his hosting with him exclusively. It's really not unheard of for designers to do it that way. £10 is quite a bit though, probably should be paying more like 5.

6. Dal123 macrumors 6502a

Dal123

I spoke with him yesterday. He says that he owns it. Which I find hard to beleive as he does not know much about computers. The webdesigner arranged everything and performed it on his account. I assume he has a cheaper 'bargain bucket' account :D.
    I am also mystified as he paid £3000 for a very basic website, and did not sign a contract or anything like that.