Sending a Mac Pro abroad...

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Tsuchiya, Sep 13, 2011.

  1. Tsuchiya macrumors 68020

    Tsuchiya

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #1
    Just wondering...has anyone else tried it? What were shipping costs like?

    I'm only entertaining the thought at the moment, but essentially I'm heading out to America early next year, and even with the weak GBP>USD exchange rate, an 8-Core Mac Pro will cost me the same as a 17" Macbook Pro from over here.

    I wouldn't normally even consider this, but that's a £640/$1000 saving which can be spent on displays, an SSD etc.

    Tempting...tempting...
     
  2. Honbe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    #2
    If you are heading to the US why not to just pick one and take back with you?
     
  3. jenzjen macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #3
    Or grab the dimensions off the Apple page and go to the FedEx/UPS websites and get a shipment quote.
     
  4. JavaTheHut, Sep 13, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2011

    JavaTheHut macrumors 6502

    JavaTheHut

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    #4
    To augment; He might need the actual shipping box dimensions for a accurate quote.

    The other thing is timing "Are you having the MP sent to a US address?" when your here or Were you hoping to walk into a Apple store and buy off the shelf?
     
  5. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #5
    Don't forget to factor in the Import Duty and VAT when it arrives. Even try to pretend it is a "gift" and you won't see it for ages even after paying the fines.
     
  6. Kissaragi macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    #6
    With the shipping, Customs charges and potentially very long delays.... I wouldn't do it personally.
     
  7. chedda macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Location:
    Underwater
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_5 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8L1 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I flew with mine from the uk to cyrprus. I bought a huge roll of bubble wrap and a bunch of fragile stickers. I also kept it in the original shipping box which goes outside the flash white one.if you buy it from a store you won't get that extra box or be able to get a BTO version. I got to the airport early and had no problem checking it in to outsize luggage. I had nothing else so basically so it cost me nothing. Luckily everything went smoothly. But moving within the EU meaner no extra tax. From the US you will get shafted better by a laptop and carry it on you have a better chance of avoiding VAT. one extra note is the keyboard may be different. I'm not sure about the guarantee I thought apple gave worldwide coverage ?
     
  8. hazza macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    #8
    Ha ha I've been here! I took my Mac Pro from UK to Sydney last year so I could work out there. BA were fantastic, i just paid the standard £32 additional baggage charge (in advance) and it arrived in Sydney fine. Although beware that "oversized baggage" notices on the side of the box do not result in it avoiding the carousel on arrival.

    We actually sent a load of stuff back early with a shipping company, so turned up for the return journey with less stuff. Quantas were absolute bastards about the additional weight. Although our booking was through BA, the additional baggage receipt stood for nothing. They were trying to charge per kg over the allowance, which worked out at literally hundreds of pounds (can't remember the exact figure). I kicked up a stink and managed to wangle it down somehow, but it still stung pretty bad.

    No problems with customs etc at any point.
     
  9. Tsuchiya thread starter macrumors 68020

    Tsuchiya

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #9
    Thanks for the replies guys. I know the line is due for an upgrade before I fly out, but in terms of the current pricing, the standard 8-core MP will do me just fine (I can add components to it overtime as I need them), so picking one up stock from an Apple Store should be no problem.

    I was just thinking what the best way to bring one back would be tbh, I know they are incredibly heavy so shipping will be crazy high (18kg according to the apple website :eek:)

    hazza, if I do through with this I'll follow what you did (declare it as oversized baggage and see what the airline charges).

    I'm starting to get a little excited :D...
     
  10. c:v macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    #10
    The box it comes in is HUGE and probably adds another 2-4Kg easily. If you get the box boxed up in the brown one as well, then it's about 1.5x the size of the original white box.
     
  11. mike3141 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    #11
    Also don't forget the power plug difference........
     
  12. Sharky II macrumors 6502a

    Sharky II

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #12
    Yeah, but it's just a kettle lead... the mac pro power switches automatically

    But i really don't think it's worth it...
     
  13. lazyboy922 macrumors 6502

    lazyboy922

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #13
    I am going to post my experience in shipping VIA the ups store. I sold my Mac pro on ebay, and the only way to get them to cover any insurance mishaps is to have THEM package it. I had the original box and foam, but they refused to use it. They placed it in a large box with the peanuts. Needless to say, it arrived to the buyer with the handles and case all bent (someone dropped it or something). The only positive was that UPS did, indeed pay for the mishap.

    But if you are shipping it to yourself, I would be extra cautious.
     

Share This Page