Sending BTO iMac back to Apple?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Robertson1993, May 20, 2008.

  1. Robertson1993 macrumors member

    Robertson1993

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    #1
    Am I able to do this? I have had nothing but problems. And a dead pixel. So will they only give me a replacement or can I get a full refund?.....since this is my first mac. I have only had it since last Friday.
     
  2. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    What problems?

    The dead pixel you'll have to live with I'm afraid.
     
  3. Robertson1993 thread starter macrumors member

    Robertson1993

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    #3
    network problems, some keys on keyboard not working randomly (even after the firmware update), network issues after waking from sleep.
     
  4. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #4
    It's a build to order computer, it's yours. If something fails like a hard drive, they will replace the drive but that machine is yours no matter what. No refunds.
     
  5. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Why don't you spell them out in a little more detail, and either we or Apple can help you through them.
     
  6. phalewhale macrumors 6502a

    phalewhale

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    #6
    14 days

    To the best of my knowledge, you have 14 days to return the computer in the UK. Custom build or not.
     
  7. Robertson1993 thread starter macrumors member

    Robertson1993

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    #7
    what so im stuck with a $2,500 computer that doesnt even work as advertised?
    Ive only had it 4-5 days, Apple should be more helpful about these sorts of problems. Im not living with an intermittent network problem. So far this computer is been a waste of money, I should just go back to Windows Vista.....
     
  8. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    ^^ You haven't even tried to describe the problem you are having in enough detail for anyone to actually help you solve :rolleyes:. We don't even know if you are connecting by a wired or wireless network, or what exactly is happening...
     
  9. Robertson1993 thread starter macrumors member

    Robertson1993

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    #9
    it is an ethernet connection. It keeps dropping out and safari keeps dropping out too, like when you open a new page sometimes, it wont load and safari will say "you are not connected to the internet". When you click network diagnostics it just says you are connected to the internet.
    Then a refresh is in order. But I cant live with something like that!
     
  10. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    What router/ISP have you got?

    I get those too sometimes, but I'm pretty sure the problem is my ****** internet connection not the Mac.

    Seriously?
     
  11. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #11
    Call Apple. If the machine is truly faulty, they'll repair or replace it as needed. BTO's are only a "you bought it, you live with it" situation if you just decided you didn't want it, not when there's actual problems.

    There are methods for unsticking a pixel. If it's truly dead, though, one is well within acceptable limits for the LCD manufacturer, and Apple as well. If you're really nice, though (and if they can't resolve the other issues), you may end up with a new one.

    What about it did you BTO? Not the RAM, I hope... ;)
     
  12. Robertson1993 thread starter macrumors member

    Robertson1993

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    #12
    just the graphics card (nvidia 8800)

    i have a Netgear router. Im on Optus.
     
  13. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    ^^ model number of the Netgear. Do you have to restart it regularly? Any other internet problems ever?
     
  14. Robertson1993 thread starter macrumors member

    Robertson1993

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    #14
    netgear DG834..... I have to restart it a couple of times a day, sometimes i get an error saying something about the IP address of the local network is in use. But its not my IP address, surely that has nothing to do with it?
     
  15. bbydon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Location:
    ATL
    #15
    if keys are not working then it could be a logic board problem. You should call apple now. before your 14days are up.
    If they just want to repair it tell them you ordered a new machine and expect a new working machine.
     
  16. Nordichund macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #16
    I sent 3 BTO 24" iMacs back to Apple. No problem at all as long as there is a genuine problem with the machine.

    Seriously what I would do is call up Apple Tech support and go through the issues you are having over the phone with them. That's what tech support is there for. On my second iMac I did that, and after a few moments the guy just said right you need a new iMac. Within a few minutes I had arranged the return of my iMac and a replacement had been ordered.
     
  17. gehrbox macrumors 65816

    gehrbox

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Charleston,SC
    #17
    Network issues

    Did you have any network issues prior to getting the Mac?

    If you are having to restart the router a couple of times a day, that is a problem with the router, its environment or its configuration.

    An IP address conflict can cause a router or computer to lose network function. It does not have to be the IP of your Mac, it could be any other device on your network.

    Is your Mac connecting to the router wirelessly or do you have a cable connecting it to the router?

    Do you have any other network devices in your home?

    Do you live in a apartment? It's possible that a neighbor's wireless could interfere with yours if their IP addresses overlap yours. You could be connecting to a neighbors router instead of you own. What is the signal strength indication in the menubar?
     
  18. orpheus1120 macrumors 65816

    orpheus1120

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #18
    This is misinformation. No offence, but I suggest you know what you are talking about before you spread ill-informed advice here. A BTO cannot be return only if you decided just "not to have it."

    However if your mac or any Apple hardware is defective, then it no longer falls under the BTO RETURN AND REFUND POLICY. It falls under the DEFECTIVE ITEMS clause, BTO or not. Your item will be repaired or replaced whichever is deemed fit. Check the link below to read more about the different clauses.

    JohnNotBeatle is very right.

    Read the following policies:-

    1) Return and Refund Policy

    2) Defective Items

    Do not be confused by Apple's policies. Read them thoroughly and if you hear conflicting views from this forum, just give AppleCare a call and they will straighten things up for you.
     
  19. Robertson1993 thread starter macrumors member

    Robertson1993

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    #19
    gehrbox, No, the network worked without a hitch in Windows.



    Thanks for the helpful reply, orpheus1120!
     
  20. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #20
    I believe I said in my post that Apple would repair whatever is wrong on a BTO computer.
     
  21. Robertson1993 thread starter macrumors member

    Robertson1993

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    #21

    Maybe i should try a new router? or am I wasting money?
    PS: It is a cable (ethernet) connection from the router to my computer.
     
  22. hologram macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    #22
    I'm just wondering why you're asking a bunch of people who can only guess, instead of calling Apple and getting a real answer.

    If you call and they give you a hard time, THEN post here about it, but what makes you think anyone here can give you the right answer? And, even if they do, how will you know which one is right?

    Look at all the replies you've received so far.

    Then, keep in mind that the person you're going to speak to at Apple probably has some discretion as to how to handle your case, especially if you reach a supervisor, and you'll see how silly it is to ask a question like that here.:rolleyes:
     
  23. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #23
    Its an iMac the keyboard problem probably just indicates the keyboard is broken, but you should call Apple to see what they say.

    If the router needs restarting and that fixes it the problem is likely to be the router, and in that case you should buy a replacement, however call Apple about the keyboard first as if it isn't just a broken keyboard it could possibly be the Mac.
     
  24. Robertson1993 thread starter macrumors member

    Robertson1993

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    #24
    it is 11:00pm here though, i would have to contact them tommorow.
     
  25. iBlue macrumors Core

    iBlue

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, England
    #25
    Do you run torrents? They are often a culprit for intermittent cut out periods. (too much passing data causes the connection to choke itself... it's especially notable when you're seeding/uploading)

    In addition, unfortunately Leopard has a few bugs when it comes to networking so I'm not entirely surprised.
     

Share This Page