Sending SMS without message body

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by daps, Jun 27, 2012.

  1. daps macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire. UK
    #1
    Can anybody help please... I need to set up a GSM power socket to my iPhone so it alerts me of power failure to my home electric supply.
    The instruction manual asks me to send a SMS to the socket to pair the phone with the socket. When I enter the number given I cannot send the number without something in the message body. Anybody know of how I can send a number out without a message on it on a iphone4

    Thanks
     
  2. enoC macrumors 6502

    enoC

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Location:
    Denmark
  3. daps thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire. UK
    #3
    .
    Thanks for suggestion. Have just tried it x 3 and it just says "your message was not sent. try again to send message"
    It looks as though it may have to be returned to the shop.
     
  4. enoC macrumors 6502

    enoC

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Location:
    Denmark
    #4
    If it's just your number it needs to register, you could use another phone. Maybe an old one..
     
  5. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
  6. daps thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire. UK
    #6
    .
    Thanks. Same reply as the space bar I'm afraid.

    ----------

    .
    .
    Good idea, the way I understand it, if I use another phone then it will be that phone what I will be registered to, I think.
     
  7. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #7
    Enoc ment put you sim in an old phone.
     
  8. enoC macrumors 6502

    enoC

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Location:
    Denmark
    #8
    Exactly:)
     
  9. daps thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire. UK
    #9
    Thanks everybody. Problem sorted. Stupid me mis read instructions re inputting mobile number, so simple in the end. Doh...
    .
    Regards.
     
  10. HydraulicHead macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    #10
    That was very stupid mistake.. Be careful next time..
     

Share This Page