Sent Mail issue on Mac using G-Mail (IMAP)

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by RobT, Jan 17, 2011.

1. RobT macrumors 6502a

RobT

I'm new to using G-Mail on my Mac and have run into an issue I can't figure out. I'm using GMail for e-mail everywhere I send an e-mail (work laptop (Win 7/Outlook), iPhone, iPad) my message is saved in a GMail folder titled "Sent Mail." This is great and what I want to continue to happen.

The issue is when I send an e-mail using my Mac with Mail.app it creates a folder called "Sent Messages" and stores the sent message there, which I would like to stop from happening.

Any idea how I can get the Mac and Mail.app to use the GMail "Sent Mail" folder on the server instead?

2. satcomer macrumors 603

satcomer

Look in Mail's Preferences for that GMail account and on GMail itself sense you are using IMAP.

3. aliebel macrumors member

You may need to check the IMAP prefix in Mail under the advanced tab in preferences for the account. Enter this: [GMAIL]

If that doesn't fix it after closing and re-opening mail, then try selecting Sent Mail in the list and under the Mailbox pull down at the top select "Use this mailbox for" then select Sent.

4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

Make sure you have IMAP set up for your Gmail account(s), then make sure your folders are configured properly:

Properly sort Drafts, Deleted, and Sent mail in Apple Mail:

Highlight [Gmail] Sent Mail in the sidebar and select Mailbox (menu bar) > Use This Mailbox For > Sent.
    Highlight [Gmail] Drafts in the sidebar and select Mailbox (menu bar) > Use This Mailbox For > Drafts
    Highlight [Gmail] Trash in the sidebar and select Mailbox (menu bar) > Use This Mailbox For > Trash
    Highlight [Gmail] Spam in the sidebar and select Mailbox (menu bar) > Use This Mailbox For > Junk

5. Btrthnezr3 macrumors 6502a

Btrthnezr3

I did those steps...