Serial ## to upgrade Tiger to Leopard?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by eclipse, Feb 20, 2008.

  1. eclipse macrumors 6502a

    eclipse

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    #1
    Hi all,
    I'm tidying the office and am looking through my old Tiger packs... and can't seem to see where the Licence number is. Do I need a licence number when I upgrade to Tiger, or is it just a standard purchase price for all?
    (I'm in Australia.)
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    Nope, there's no serial or licence number. Any retail boxed version of Leopard will allow you to upgrade or install on a fresh system.
     
  3. eclipse thread starter macrumors 6502a

    eclipse

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    #3
    So it's the standard price as well? No discount for being a loyal Mac loving user for many, many years? ;)
     
  4. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #4
    Nope, 1 price for all...unless you can get EDU discount.
     
  5. cc bcc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2001
    Location:
    nl
    #5
    OS X never had upgrade prices, you must have noticed that in those many many years. ;)
     
  6. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #6
    OSX has always been at upgrade price: there is no "full price". The retail copy is only licensed to install on a Mac. As it's a Mac it must already have a copy of Mac OS on it...
     
  7. cc bcc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2001
    Location:
    nl
    #7
    ^ That's a never ending discussion. Does the EULA demand you have an earlier version of OS X? Nope. Does it check for a previous install? No. The retail version doesn't.

    I've once had an upgrade version of OS X, I believe 10.3. The G5 I had ordered at the time came with 10.2 but I recieved a free upgrade. The install disk checked if 10.2 was installed, only then would it continue with installing 10.3. I know this, because right before installing 10.3 I decided to wipe my harddrive. 10.3 wouldn't install so I had to install 10.2 again...

    That's what I call an upgrade version. The retail one is different, so I can't call that an upgrade version. The name is taken. IMHO that is.
     
  8. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #8
    I challenge you to install an unmodified copy of Mac OS on a system that's never had it before.
     
  9. stainlessliquid macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    #9
    Yes, technically it already is at the "upgrade price"
     
  10. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #10
    What about from 10.0 to 10.1 as I recall (actually I am looking at the cd right now:D) Apple had upgrade discs for early adopters. I think this was the only time for a lower upgrade price.
     

Share This Page