Serial

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Mac7, Jan 9, 2012.

  1. Mac7 macrumors 6502a

    Mac7

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #1
    I have a 2011 MacBook Pro with AppleCare on it. I had it repaired about a month ago. Now when I go to check the warranty status I get this message "We're sorry, the number you have provided cannot be found in our records. Please verify the number and try again, or contact us."
     
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
    Did the logic board get replaced? AFAIK that changes the product SN. You may just have to call them and make sure they know about your new SN (they may check with whoever fixed the computer or make you fax the form to them or something).
     
  3. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #3
    I agree. Make sure the serial number on the bottom case of your computer and the one from About This Mac... match. Changing the logic board DOES change your serial number.
     
  4. kaioshade macrumors regular

    kaioshade

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    #4
    Changing the logic board should NOT change your serial number. When logic boards are replaced, they come blank, a new serial number is then flashed onto the board by the ASP.

    They might have mistyped the serial when they were flashing the serial however, which in that case, you need to get the board replaced again. Flashing is a one time procedure, most ASP's do not have the method to erase the board.
     
  5. Mac7 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Mac7

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
  6. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    From what I've seen here and elsewhere this is not uncommon. Being that this only pertains to the warranty and apple has a record of the repair, its not a huge issue. They can update the serial # the next time he brings it in.
     
  7. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #7
    If you have time, you can just take it back to the Apple Store and ask them to set the serial number on the new logic board, they obviously forgot to do that. Shouldn't take them more than a few minutes. It's not a big deal overall if they don't, but it's nice for those little features (and some of their diagnostics won't run without doing that, so it could cause them issues if you have more service done later).

    jW
     

Share This Page