Serious Crash(Very Detailed)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mike912, Feb 24, 2010.

  1. mike912 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    #1
    my macpro 2x2.66 first gen just took a dive and I AM TERRIFIED- as I am broke right now!!!

    one and a half years ago I pulled a drive out of my macpro and put it in a box for long term storage, I stored it properly, it had a lot of older recordings on it and I didn't need them in the comp, so I took out the drive and put in a new larger one.

    last night I pulled out that drive and decided to pop it in and pull some older songs up. as soon as I started the computer the fan went totally crazy, I've never heard it spin that much or that fast in 3 1/2 years with this comp, it worried me immediately!

    she just went to a gray screen and stayed there, then nothing else happened so I powered down.

    I took the drive back out and restarted the comp.

    keep in mind that this drive had been formatted on that actual computer and used on that computer for a year and a half before being removed to make room for a larger drive. it has NEVER been attached to another computer, EVER.

    I powered her up and got a folder with blinking a question mark.

    so I tried a restart, no luck, was going to try and boot from the install disc only to find that my computer would not recognize the DVDRW drive, would not even open it. forced the drive open using a paperclip and inserted the statup disc, nthing, it would not even recognize that the drive or the disc was there.

    stripped out all 3rd party hardware, pcie cards, USB, Firewire etc, all HD's other than the boot drive, tried again, no luck.

    the computer itself will not recognize any of the HD's, DVDRW or any internal hardware.

    reset PRAM, nothing.

    so I try restarting the computer in target disc mode, no luck, just a gray screen with the folder and question mark.

    then I break out my laptop and start it, (macbook), in target disc mode so I can treat it like a bootable external drive, FW400 connected to the tower. once the macbook is in target disc mode I start the macpro tower, and she see's the bootable external drive and fires right up. running off the macbooks drive like it was just an external FW drive.

    I run for a few minutes and do all the diagnostics I can, nothing though.

    so I then insert my OSX install disc into the macbook dvdrw drive, it recognizes the disc and loads into the bootable disc from the FW macbook drive.

    at this point I run disc utility on the tower and it will not see any of the drives in the tower(all 4 are re-inserted at this point).

    then I run the apple hardware test from the macbook under FW target disc mode, it shows the proper specs of the tower and recognizes all ram and processors accordingly, the tower looks fine but will not recognize the internal HD's or DVDRW drive, no internal hardware peripherals are being seen.

    I run the apple hardware test twice and it passes both tests perfect.(extended test).

    I am so lost as to what to do next.

    a few odd details.

    if I just power it up it goes to the folder and question mark icon.

    if I start while holding down the option key for a booy menu it will stay at the blank grey screen, no folder with question mark, no icon of any kind.

    the computer functioned perfectly when booted from the macbook in Target disc mode, all processors and ram functioned and checked out perfectly.

    please suggest anything you know that I have not tried yet, I really cannot afford this right now.

    mac pro 2x2.66 ghz with 7GB Ram-OSX 10.5.7 for the record.
     
  2. Cynicalone macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #2
    What happens if you pull all of your HDD's except you main system/boot drive and start the computer?

    EDIT: Reread that. Did it go to the ? again with the boot drive?
     
  3. jrlcopy macrumors 6502

    jrlcopy

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #3
    So larger hard drive works while hard drive you stored doesn't?

    How long was hard drive you stored in storage for? Hard Drives aren't meant to be stored longer than a year without being booted up.
     
  4. Loa macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #4
    Hello, can you point me towards more info on that? I have a few drives that have been shelved for a bit.

    Thanks

    Loa
     
  5. mike912 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    #5
    yes, it goes to the ? with only the boot drive attached.
     
  6. mike912 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    #6
    it was in a static-proof sleeve in a box like when you buy them, it was stored for 1 1/2 years.

    did not know about the year time limit you speak of.
     
  7. nufanec macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    #7
    There is no official 1 year no use limit. That is absolute crap.

    However, it is worth remembering that hard drives are spinning disks with some very small moving parts so long term storage / periods of inactivity could theoretically mean that the mechanical components may seize up, but I'm not going to pull a figure out of my ass to quantify how long that should/might take.

    -edit-
    In terms of what you're experiencing, it does sound like the drive may have failed. No one can really guess why. Could be the inactivity, could be any number of other things. It's a hard drive, gonna happen at some point.
     
  8. mike912 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    #8
    a failed HD shouldn't cause an entire computer to stop recognizing all drives including DVDrw's, I think its some kind of power related issue, its applestore time and I really hope it don't cost too much.
     
  9. Cynicalone macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #9
    Sometimes when swapping the boot/system drive the computer will lose track of where it is supposed to boot from.

    You should be able to insert the CD that came with the Pro, and boot while holding down the c key.

    Then verify and repair the boot/system drive. Then restart and you should be good to go.

    If you can't do that then yes a trip to the Apple store is in order.
     
  10. 68topls macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    #10
    Sounds like the drive swap took out the on board sata chain. Strange.....
     
  11. mike912 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    #11

    sorry bro, but it will not recognize that there is a dvdrw drive attached at all, so it cannot recognize the drive, so it cannot read from the drive, so it cannot boot from the drive.
     
  12. mike912 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    #12
    this is what I'm afraid of, something physical is "blown" somewhere in the circuit board or power structure.
     
  13. Dr.Pants macrumors 65816

    Dr.Pants

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #13
    That was my first assumption, but I seriously thought that it would be far-fetched.

    Dunno your options now - you may have to go completely external for what you need to do. Unfortunately I thought Intel macs weren't able to boot from firewire, so if that's the case you'll have to grab a bootable eSATA card to at least attach a hard drive and get legitimate bandwidth (DVD drive, though, can be easily run off of USB).
     
  14. HyperX13 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #14
  15. AppleNewton macrumors 68000

    AppleNewton

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    1 Finite Place
    #15
    I think generally thas what the SMC Reset is for as well; Unplug the power cable and all other attached cables, usb, firewire, audio, display etc.
    press & and hold the power button for about 10-15 seconds.

    OP, have you tried that reset? unplugging everything & hold the power button for a few moments?
    (while everything is off and unplugged of course)


    it seems strange that the SATA HD bays arent recognizing anything, and the DVDDrives are all IDE if I recall on those versions.

    -are you able to put just one drive in and boot form any of the sata bays?



    you may want to try unplugging all your upgraded components; (Optical), Hard Drives & Memory, resort to your basic hardware and see if possibly something else is botching up the system.
    As I recall a few times that has happened where it seemed the entire machine went DOA, and trying to revert to the basic method cleared it upa nd i was able to place my upgraded hardware in.

    its a long shot but seems kind of strange what is happening.
     

Share This Page