Serious issues transferring data

Discussion in 'iMac' started by letmedanz, Feb 22, 2013.

  1. letmedanz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    #1
    I recently got a new iMac so am trying to copy/move some files around.
    However ANY file i copy onto the hard disk (which is in NTFS format) are not visible in my Win7 PC.
    The folder into which i copied into is visible but shows size as 0 bytes, whereas there is around 1.7TB of data in that folder.
    In fact i just realized that i am able to just view the older folders as well but not able to see the contents of any folder.

    If i attach the disk to the Mac, all the files are there..

    Please advice
     
  2. letmedanz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    #2
    Getting quite paranoid now to be honest...
    At times the drives are not even detected on the PC
    and on the mac, only one of the drives are showing up...
     
  3. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #3
    I'm not quite sure what disk formats you have going on here? If the external is in NTFS, the Mac would be able to read files from that disk but not write to the disk natively.

    It sounds like you may have formatted it to the Mac HFS+ format which the Windows machine will not be able to see.

    If you plug the disk in the Mac and start Disk Utility, what format does it show?
     
  4. letmedanz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    #4
    Haven't formatted anything.
    It is in NTFS & i have Paragon NTFS installed.
    It is version 9, could that be the problem?
     
  5. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Ah... did not realize you had Paragon on there. From this it looks like you need V10 for Mountain Lion.
     
  6. letmedanz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    #6
    Thanks Weaselboy..
    I guess Paragon is worth it.. Just bought version 10
     

Share This Page