Serious ITouch Question

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Aibynn, Mar 2, 2009.

1. Aibynn macrumors newbie

Let me get this out of the way first - I'm a programmer who has over the last programmed on Macintoshs, but not for the last 10 years or so... the jobs simply weren't around for Macs the way they were for Linux and PCs.

I have never, however, liked the iPod. I don't like the iTouch, I don't like the iPhone and I loathe iTunes.

Now, if you're still willing to help...

A friend of mine came around the other day. I had taken a video of an engagement party that we were both at and she wanted to take it home. I had just run out of media, the file was some odd 70 MB large so I asked if she had a flash drive or USB drive or something. She told me she had an iTouch with her, would that work?

I told her of course it would! I'll even convert the file to play on her iTouch so she could watch it on her trip home.

I fire up a program and it converts pretty quickly. First I try to plug the thing into my PC and find out that the iTouch won't act as a hard drive. I'm a bit surprised, but ok, I create a quick Virtual Machine, install iTunes and it recognizes the ITouch.

I then try several ways to get the video across, only to have iTunes tell me that I have to Sync (rather than just copy it across). I say ok, and it tells me it's going to delete everything on the iTouch? Apparrently, it will only sync with one computer at a time?

I did a bit of research and it looks like without doing something ridiculous (like Jailbreaking the iTouch), there is no way to get my perfectly legal and totally unprotected video file onto the iTouch?

Please, tell me I'm missing something. At that point I'd already spent an hour or so trying, she had to go and she obviously took her iTouch with her.