Serious RAW Support Bug in Yosemite

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by aliensporebomb, Jan 17, 2015.

  1. aliensporebomb macrumors 68000

    aliensporebomb

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN, USA, Urth
    #1
    So I've been dealing with this issue since Yosemite came out.

    The basics: Nikon D3200 with several 64 gig class 10 memory cards,
    Nikon and Rokinon Lenses.

    I previously stored my raw files in the iPhoto - it wasn't ideal but it allowed me to store them and view them.

    After Yosemite came out I updated and the following happens occasionally:

    Nikon .NEF raw files sometimes come out like this:
    [​IMG]

    Or it comes out like this:
    [​IMG]

    The picture is SUPPOSED to look like this:
    [​IMG]

    The recommendation from the Apple support site was to:

    Go to:
    System/Library/CoreServices
    Then delete RawCamera.bundle and RawCameraSupport.bundle

    Reboot then reinstall the 5.6 raw support (not the more current one).
    That's what Apple recommended anyway.

    It will then work for a while - but within a few days new imports show up like this:
    [​IMG]

    Or:
    [​IMG]


    Then I have to do the process all over again. I see that there was a fairly large amount of people complaining about this.

    Extremely frustrating. Word is it happens with ANY app on an Intel Mac that uses RAW files (.NEF) be it iPhoto, Aperture, Lightroom, Preview, The Gimp, etc.

    Anyone else experience this? Anyone else have a better fix? Apple better push Photos out with a new .RAW update or they're going to have photographers leaving in droves. This is insane!
     
  2. jms969 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    #2
    I ditched iPhoto and Aperture long ago and use Lightroom as my DAM. I have zero problems with Lightroom because it does not use Apple Camera Raw.

    But

    If I use preview to view the NEF images then I occasionally get the black screen you are getting.

    In all fairness, a) I downgraded back to Maverick because of Yosemite issues, b) I am in the process of moving back to the windows world, my new machines have arrived. It will take a couple of more weeks to get all of the files moved over and everything set-up and working properly. My MBA is already sold and my iMac will be for sale in a couple of weeks...
     
  3. Robotti macrumors regular

    Robotti

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    #3
    I'm also using Lightroom, and so far so good. I haven't experienced this issue with my NEFs. Have you tried Nikon's Capture NX-D for importing, or does it fit into your workflow?
     
  4. aliensporebomb, Jan 18, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2015

    aliensporebomb thread starter macrumors 68000

    aliensporebomb

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN, USA, Urth
    #4
    Windows

    Really trying to avoid windows - I deal with that in my day gig and that's even worse than the issues in Mac OS X IMO especially Windows 8/8.1.

    I wasn't aware lightroom utilized it's own raw processing so I may move to that if Apple drags its heels any longer on the Photo app they purport to release.

    ----------

    Somehow I doubt it. But possibly the bigger problem is I've got 32,000+ photos in my iPhoto library. That may actually be part of my problem.

    I may need to break things down to a library per year as it's possible none of these apps are able to handle that much data.
     
  5. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #5
    That shouldn't be an issue, my iPhoto library is 645GB and 79,000 images, all works without issue, opens in under 30secs with Aperture. I shoot RAW and don't have any issues like this - but I shoot a D300 so quite an old RAW format now.
     
  6. MiniD3 macrumors 6502a

    MiniD3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    Almost starting to look like a corrupt card!

    Do you safely eject your cards and delete and format the card in camera?
    ........Gary
     
  7. aliensporebomb thread starter macrumors 68000

    aliensporebomb

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN, USA, Urth
    #7
    Yep.....

    Yep.
     
  8. cyb3rdud3 Suspended

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    I'm on Yosemite and I use Nikon nef, Olympus orf and Panasonic (whatever their format it) and all is well. No issues with raw whatsoever.
     

Share This Page