seriously considering a iMac 27inch

Discussion in 'iMac' started by markosb, Sep 12, 2010.

1. markosb macrumors 6502

markosb

I am in the process of saving money to purchase the above. I have been a Windows user since Windows 3.0. My reasons for changing are simple, I want a simplistic setup (I'm sick of the cords), I like the way Mac OS installs software, Windows (although its a little better now) likes to place files everywhere and lastly, For the first time in quite some time, I don't think Microsoft will change, unless they get rid of Ballmer and put someone with a vision into the CEO spot.

3 years ago I bought the iPod touch, mostly to replace a Windows Mobile Device. This past year I visited an Apple store to buy an iPad and played with the previous version of the iMac. Being a photographer, I was impressed with the display, I thought this might be nice (except the glossy part)

I am familiar with OS X as I had it installed for a short time on my PC, I liked it for the short time I had it installed, it was frustrating going back to Windows. I am sure Apple has this all planed out, they knew that people using the iPhone, iPod and iPad would eventually buy Macs... although the iPad was a reason I decided to change, OS X was the main reason, its more complete and doesn't come in 50 versions.

By the time I get the money, they will probably have new models that cost a little less, and honestly, the 27 inch i5 is more than sufficient, maybe all it needs from the default setup is a little more ram. I am spoiled with 8 gigs now.

2. RichardI macrumors 6502a

RichardI

I used DOS before Windows - the only good version of Windows was 3.11. Go for it - you will not regret it. I am on my second iMac now and I erased Windows from my hard drive finally about a year ago. But, you can run both on your new iMac if you want to :D.

Rich :cool:

3. markosb thread starter macrumors 6502

markosb

I used DOS as well, from about 3.0...