Seriously, how do you DISABLE Resume?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by FooArk, Aug 14, 2011.

  1. FooArk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    #1
    I went to general settings and unchecked that box. Yet every time I open preview or restart my computer, everysingle previous window I had open appears. It is very annoying. Any suggestions
     
  2. soundguy15 macrumors member

    soundguy15

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_6 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8E200 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Check the box and then uncheck it again. It's possible the setting didn't stick the first time. Then try restarting.
     
  3. sidewinder macrumors 68020

    sidewinder

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northern California
    #3
    I don't know what is wrong with your system, but mine works as expected.

    Here is what I did starting with the "Restore windows when quitting and re-opening apps" option checked:

    1. I opened an image file with the "Preview" app.
    2. Quit "Preview" with image file still open.
    3. Opened "Preview" directly and that same image file opened with it.
    4. Quit "Preview" with image file still open.
    5. Opened "System Preferences" and selected "General".
    6. Unchecked the "Restore windows when quitting and re-opening apps" option.
    7. Opened "Preview" directly and that same image file opened with it.
    8. Quit "Preview" with image file still open.
    9. Opened "Preview" directly and no image file was loaded.

    Okay, this worked exactly as expected. I know, you think step 7 should have behaved the way step 9 did.

    Well, if you understand how this all works, you would know why it did not. This directory:

    ~/Library/Saved Application State/

    Contains the saved state of applications when they quit. If the "Restore windows when quitting and re-opening apps" option is checked, it saves the state with all open documents. If the option is disabled, the file for the application is deleted when the app is closed. Thus not saving the state.

    So, the first time you open an app after you change the setting in "General", the app will load with the previous saved state.

    S-

    ----------

    This was not required on my system.

    S-
     
  4. FooArk thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
  5. Nuckinfuts macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #5
    Are you unchecking the box on reboot? Every time?
     
  6. wackymacky macrumors 68000

    wackymacky

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    38°39′20″N 27°13′10″W
    #6
    You can do it in command line in Terminal.

    defaults write com.apple.Preview NSQuitAlwaysKeepsWindows -bool false

    defaults write com.apple.QuickTimePlayerX NSQuitAlwaysKeepsWindows -bool false

    The first line for Preview, the second for QuickTime Player X.

    Make sure the apps aren’t running when you run the commands.

    To reavtivate Resume, just change the BOOL from “false” to “true” (Obviously, without the quotation marks.)
     

Share This Page