Server and Static IP for VPN

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by Rokeneer, Apr 28, 2015.

  1. Rokeneer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    #1
    Hi guys,

    I have two Mac Minis that I am going to set up as servers for backups. I would also like to run a VPN on one of them. I know that within my own network I need to allocate a static IP for the computer, but I can't seem to get a straight answer from anyone as to whether or not I need a static IP from my ISP. Does anybody have any insight on this?

    Thanks.
     
  2. 0d085d macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    #2
    You will need to either get a static IP from your ISP, or use a service such as DynDNS to keep a domain pointing at your home network.
     
  3. brdeveloper macrumors 68020

    brdeveloper

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Location:
    Brasil
    #3
    Either options (ISP or DynDNS) are expensive for home use. Another option would be making your Mini writing its own IP on a well known URL (like a free web host). I did this on my Mini and it worked as long as I kept the Mini always awake.

    The problem is if you want saving energy. Wake-On-Lan through the internet is some kind of hit-and-miss exercise. It seems that if you have an AirPort Express router you can wake up your Mac easily, but I never tried. Instead, I tried sending WoL messages from my cell phone and I don't remember if it fully worked. Perhaps it can work if you disabled deep sleep (hibernation).

    Here is a discussion:
    http://osxdaily.com/2013/12/14/wake-on-lan-mac-iphone/
     
  4. Rokeneer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    #4
    Thanks for the help. I'll probably just get a static from my ISP as it's only $10 a month (small regional cable company). I know that for time warner internet with a static IP is $100+ for only 15down/1up. I'll be getting 50down/5up with the static IP for $70 a month from my cable company.
     
  5. marzer macrumors 65816

    marzer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #5
    If you don't need it for professional use, there are free services that dynamically update your home URL whenever your ISP IP changes. I use no-ip.com for my internet streaming server. A free utility runs in the background on my machine. When my IP changes, my free URL gets updated. It's nicer accessing your home system with a URL than an IP address.
     
  6. oneMadRssn macrumors 68040

    oneMadRssn

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
  7. andeify macrumors 6502

    andeify

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    My ISP Plusnet gave me a static IP for a one off fee of £1, got to be the best UK ISP right now!
     

Share This Page