Server not responding using T-Mobile

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by tecomtt, Dec 23, 2010.

  1. tecomtt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    #1
    I recently got an iPhone 3GS. Everything seems to be working fine, save for the fact that I can't access the web using Safari. Every time I try to go anywhere, it says that the server is not responding, or it directs me to a page that says that an "Upsell Subscription" is required.

    Data roaming is on, 3g is off. Wi-fi works. I've tried multiple APN servers. I can download apps and what not at all times, so it's just the browser.

    Help me pleaaase
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    It might be an apn setting. How long has it been doing that?
    I think there was a package on cydia for this but not sure what it was called.
     
  3. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    I agree, it currently works and has worked for years with my brothers iphone 3G on tmobile also.
    There was a few times a while ago that there was issues like that but went away a day or 2 later.
     
  5. tecomtt, Dec 24, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2010

    tecomtt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    #5
    Already tried that APN. I guess I'll just have to wait a few days and see if it goes away. Thanks though. And I'll look on Cydia for that fix, Applejuiced.
     
  6. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #6
    What iOS are you on? Which program did you use to jailbreak?

    You might have to install PushFix
     
  7. tecomtt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    #7
    I'm on 4.1 and limera1n to jailbreak. Sorry, I don't really know what PushFix is. Isn't that for notifications? Anyway, I looked it up and it looks like it's not compatible for 4.1 yet, anyway (but should be in a few days). Should I keep this in mind? Thx, though.

    I got in touch with customer service and they basically just told me to put in the same APN you guys did. They said they didn't know what else to do after that. Maybe something is wrong with the phone itself. Would it help at all to reset the phone to factory settings and jailbreak / unlock again?
     
  8. tecomtt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    #8
    Oh, and I should note that this phone was given to me. So I'm not sure if the web was working prior to my use.
     
  9. tecomtt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    #9
    Gah! Now I can't access the app store, my mail, or anything!
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    Its not as easy as you think.
    You gotta know what you're doing to restore, rejailbreak and unlock a 3GS and even then you might be stuck with a tethered jailbreak for now.
    What baseband are you on?
     
  11. tecomtt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    #11
    It's 6.15
     
  12. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #12
    I see.
    What shsh's do you have saved on cydias server?
    Open cydia and look at the top of the page.
     
  13. tecomtt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    #13
    At the top? It says "This device has a pending TSS request." Otherwise I'm not sure what you mean, sorry.
     
  14. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    Oh, I see.
    So the only SHSH you will get now is 4.2.1 and higher.
    If you restore it now you will be stuck restoring to 4.2.1 and a tethered JB.
    I'd Wait a little longer for the untethered JB to be released.
     
  15. tecomtt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    #15
    FIXED!

    I don't know what actually made the difference, but I put my SIM card into another T-mobile phone and used the internet on it. Then I put it back into my iPhone, reset network settings, and entered in the internet2.voicestream.com APN. Rebooted my phone and now everything's perfect! Weird because I had tried all these steps individually.

    Thanks for everyone's input, etc
     
  16. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
    Nice, so the internet2 APN did it for ya.
    Glad it worked out.
     

Share This Page