Server with UPS shut down & start after power failure

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by drewsof07, Aug 29, 2016.

  1. drewsof07 macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #1
    I'm running a Mac Mini & Drobo as a server for my security system, as well a Plex and cloud storage. I have a 1000va UPS connected via USB and it powers the mini, my security, and networking gear. I want the security and networking gear to run as long as possible. I feel a bit restricted with the energy saver preferences regarding the UPS. I like that the server can shut down when power has been off x minutes, so the security gear has priority. The piece I'm missing is for it to start back up after power is restored (not so easy). It seems because the computer is going through a normal shut down, it doesn't respect the "start up automatically after power failure" setting. Since I remotely control the mini to access the DVR from work, I never know if/when power has been restored. The darn thing won't come back up.

    One option would be to disconnect the Drobo from the UPS, since the mini only draws ~15w idle, but I'm shooting for the moon here.

    Any help or expertise would be appreciated. I tried a search, but I could only find articles on either UPS integration OR help deciding whether to use the Start up automatically function - not both.

    -drewsof07
     
  2. campyguy macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Location:
    Portland / Seattle
    #2
    It would be helpful to know which brand of UPS you're connected to - some companies like CyberPower are Mac (mostly) friendly, while APC (10.4) and MinuteMan (10.3) gave up on OS X years ago. I think that Tripp Lite has never supported OS X. Knowing more about what type/brand of UPS you're running would help pinning down some options IMHO.

    I use CyberPower's PowerPanel for some of my offices and the open-source, multi-platform apcupsd UPS control software for my APC units (which was updated about 6-7 weeks ago to conform with SIP requirements...).
     
  3. drewsof07 thread starter macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #3
  4. campyguy macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Location:
    Portland / Seattle
    #4
    We use the Business Edition of the PowerPanel SW - it's much more powerful than the personal edition. I'll have to take a look at what gimps the PE version has before I can advise. I've been a fan of APC units over the years but CyberPower seems to be the only UPS company that I'm aware of that gives a rats-rear-end about OS X users, which is why they've got most of my business in this area...
     
  5. drewsof07 thread starter macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #5
    Appreciate you taking a look. Figured this was probably the most likely place to find answers regarding a home UPS server setup. My end game is to have the whole house off-grid, just one mega millions jackpot away...
     

Share This Page