"Set up as new iPhone" option in iTunes

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by GalFieri, Jun 29, 2016.

  1. GalFieri macrumors regular

    GalFieri

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Location:
    California
    #1
    A friend of mine has never connected her iPhone 6 to iTunes, and she wants to make a local backup so she can restore it to her new iPhone 6s.

    iTunes prompts her with the set up as new iPhone or the restore from backup options. Does choosing "Set up as new iPhone" actually delete her current data, or is it just basically saying she won't restore from a backup.
     
  2. XT550 macrumors regular

    XT550

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    #2
    If you want to backup you hit the backup option in the summary page. Make sure to choose "on this computer" so then you can use this backup to restore your new 6S.
    If you choose "set up as new" you will lose all your data and you'll end up with a phone just the way it came out from the factory. That's why it's also called "factory restore".
     
  3. ChrisWilliam macrumors member

    ChrisWilliam

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    "Set up as new iPhone" is just like the "Factory Reset", be careful about this, it will delete all the data on your iPhone, might leading to important files missing.
     
  4. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #4
    Didn't the previous reply already essentially say exactly that?
     

Share This Page