Set up my Mac Pro to Share VPN in my home?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by caliguy1965, Oct 29, 2018.

  1. caliguy1965, Oct 29, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2018

    caliguy1965 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    #1
    Hi all, the vpn app on my Mac Pro gives me almost 75% to 100% of my 300Mbps speed but when run through my Netgear R6700 with DD WRT it drops to 10% arounf 30Mbps.....so that's a no no.
    My Mac Pro has 2 ethernet connections but no Wifi built in.
    What are my options to use my Mac Pro with VPN running through the app or network settings and share hard ethernet cable or wifi through out my home?
    Can I do something like modem to Ethernet 1 then from ethernet 2 to router and have vpn sharing for ethernet 2 connection?
    Anyone suggestions would be appreciated.
     
  2. killawat macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #2
    Your Netgear router is nice but not the beefiest DD WRT router around. It looks like the RT-AC86U would give you the greatest throughput @ around 200 Mbps. I wouldn't route through your Mac Pro unless it's dedicated. not saying you can't but, its not ideal.

    I used to run pfsense on a 1,1 for gigabit firewall but with appliances being so energy efficient nowadays it just didn't make any sense.
    pfsense on a small htpc would be great because you get a lot of flexibility and more then likely line speeds on VPN.
     
  3. caliguy1965 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    #3
    Thank you for the response. Will keep looking for a solution and def try out the RT-AC86U, I only need wifi for the house to be behind the vpn besides my mac pro.
     
  4. orph macrumors 68000

    orph

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    the cmp is not an ideal solution, a new dedicated router or if you want to get fancy you can get a cheep low power computer and set up pfSense or something of the like

    that video's relay old but something like that,

    id just get a better router thing it will save lots of time and just work out of the box without a lot of work
     
  5. caliguy1965, Oct 30, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2018

    caliguy1965 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    #5
    Thank you, I will try the newer routers first.
     
  6. orph macrumors 68000

    orph

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    yep id relay just get a new router as it's just going to make life simple.
     

Share This Page

5 October 29, 2018