Set up prepaid calling card for international calls?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by kcheung, Aug 3, 2007.

  1. kcheung macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    #1
    I have a prepaid calling card that I use for calling international. The way it works is that I have to call a 866 number, followed by entering a 10 digit code, and then proceed to calling the actual number (with international prefix codes). Is there a way to set this up as international call default so that I do not have to modify all my international contact's phone numbers to include this procedure?

    Thanks.

    Kenny
     
  2. Navintar macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #2
    I believe you can use "p" to do something like this.

    <1800 number> p < pin code for your card> p <011-country code-area code-tel number>

    Then save these strings of number in your contact list, so you could call international number using your prepaid phone card with one button.
     
  3. Navintar macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #3
    I just checked my iphone, there is no way to enter text in the number field in contact list. So you can't directly type "p".

    What you do instead is first press "+*#" button, then the "pause" button will show up. Use "pause" between each entry of number in the format I described above.

    To change all the international contact's phone numbers all at once, you will need to use script to modify multiple entries in address book on your mac. This might give you a good start.
    http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?story=20070316001856199
     
  4. ahndee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    #4
    Use "Calling Card" iPhone application

    If you don't want to change all your contacts to add calling card numbers for each of them (and potentially change those numbers if you decide to switch cards later on) you probably want to take a look at the "Calling Card" iPhone application:

    Application Website
    AppStore Link
     
  5. adaidweb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
  6. Mrbobb macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    #6
    REALLY, one has to do all that?

    I remember Windows95, 1995! had a thing on its dialer where I believe one of the field on the contact list a USE A DIALING CARD FOR THIS NUMBER, which defaults to none.

    Can't believe these days and age, with the iPhone none less, one has to jump through hoops. Dinosaur!
     
  7. BCCISProf macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    #7
    Take a look at an app called prefixer. Allows you to set and reset selectively prefix codes.
     

Share This Page