iPhone Setting App Open

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by wproct, Oct 10, 2015.

  1. wproct macrumors 6502

    wproct

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Location:
    Iowa
    #1
    Hi, this isn't a huge issue, but just a question of curiosity. Each evening just before going to bed, I close all apps on my Iphone 5s and power it down. I noticed at some point after installing IOS 9 that when I powered my Iphone on in the morning, the Settings app would be open. I then paid particular attention that I was closing this app every night, and in the morning when powering up it would be open again. Just curious as to whether this is normal or not? Again, not a huge issue, just curious. Thanks
     
  2. BobZ521 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    #2
    I also get the exact same thing and don't think this is normal. I see this on both 5s's we have and iPad Air2 since iOS 9 came out.
    http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/settings-opening-itself.1925319/
     
  3. kevroc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    #3
    I guess the question would be whether, when you turn your phone on, you want your settings to load? If your settings can't load then your phone wouldn't work, so what would the point of that be?
     
  4. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #4
    It's been happening in 9.0, 9.0.1 and 9.0.2 where if you close out apps in the switcher then reboot those apps you just closed reappear. It's just a screenshot though of what was running.

    I've heard reports that 9.1 fixes this. (Never tested it myself yet though)
     
  5. BobZ521 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    #5
    No offense but I think you are missing the point. The Settings App is found in an open state when it was already previously closed or shutdown. Something is triggering it to open on its own. The settings App does not need to be open for the settings to load in the background on startup.
     
  6. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #6
    It's not actually open. It's just a screenshot. In 9.0, 9.0.1 and 9.0.2 of you close an app and reboot soon after they reappear. It's because the app switcher didn't update the screenshots yet before you rebooted (or turned off) so when you turn it back on or it's done rebooting it loads it's last know "saved" screenshots.
     
  7. CTHarrryH macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    #7
    This has been the situation for me for many IOS releases - I close all apps down then shut down or do a restart and some app that i closed down is open. At least 3 major IOS releases
     
  8. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #8
    Is the app actually open? Simply having it on the list of recently openned apps doesn't mean the app is open and/or running.
     
  9. wproct thread starter macrumors 6502

    wproct

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Location:
    Iowa
    #9
    I'm glad to hear that others have the issue as well, and that I'm not alone in noticing this. Like I said, it's not as huge issue, just something that I notice is different. Thanks for the comments.
     
  10. kevroc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    #10
    No offense taken. I think it's funny that the OP describes this as an "issue" and equally funny that you think you know how the phone works from a development standpoint. There very well could be a legitimate reason why the app loads on boot as a default. I could even be where it loads on some phones due to memory requirements and having to have the app loaded in memory to access certain settings vs other phones with more ram where it can cache all of the settings without having to load the app. I could be where a setting in the app causes it to load because that one setting triggers other settings that need to be read that don't get loaded on boot, so the app has to load for those other settings to be read.

    It's all funny really, because it's an "issue" the OP is having with the phone...

    I can't imagine how many other "issues" the OP has in their day to day life (no offence intended).
     
  11. philipyoungg macrumors regular

    philipyoungg

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Location:
    Jakarta Capital Region
    #11
    I'm not even OP and found your response very offensive. No need to get personal, man.
     
  12. wproct thread starter macrumors 6502

    wproct

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Location:
    Iowa
    #12
    Hey, I'm the OP and no offense was taken, it's all good. I've just always noticed the trivial things like this, just "gifted" I guess, lol. Anyway, I'm retired now and have even more time to notice them. It's not an issue, just poor choice of words on my part, but thanks to all who commented.
     
  13. BobZ521 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    #13
    I grabbed a screenshot this morning after charging overnight just to clarify what I have been seeing. I assume this is what you also described but I thought it may help someone.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. wproct thread starter macrumors 6502

    wproct

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Location:
    Iowa
    #14
    Yes! Thank you, that is exactly what I see when booting my phone up in the morning.
     
  15. VSMacOne macrumors 601

    VSMacOne

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #15
    Hey buddy, nobody asked you to comment on this thread. It's an issue for the OP and other users as well, because it's not normal behavior. You have no idea what you are talking about. This is not normal behavior for iOS so it is an issue.
     
  16. Mercenary macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    #16
    Why do you close them before powering off? The act of shutting down does that for you.
     
  17. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #17
    Except it's not really an issue. It's just the app switcher screenshot of the app because it was open. Closing it and then rebooting soon after didn't give it time to update the screenshots. So after the reboot it loads it's last known saved screenshots.

    Some have said 9.1 "fixes" this. I assume by the app switcher saving the screenshots quicker in its cache or whatever.
     
  18. VSMacOne macrumors 601

    VSMacOne

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #18
    It doesn't sound like the same issue to me. Isn't it weird that it's happening to a few folks with the Settings app? In the past when it's happened to me all of the apps reopened after a reboot, not just some. So why just the Settings app for these guys?
     
  19. BobZ521 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    #19
    I'm wondering what you are referring to when you say it didn't have time to update the screenshots? Just trying to understand the logic. All apps are closed, phone is powered off, phone is plugged in and phone boots clean and goes untouched until next day. When I first unlock it and double tap home button I get what is in the screenshot. I see the same thing on my Air2 and never had previously on either device. Just curious why you think it's loading screenshots and where this would come from if they were never open to begin with. Thanks.
     
  20. wproct thread starter macrumors 6502

    wproct

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Location:
    Iowa
    #20
    Yeah, it's not a time related scenario. When my phone is powered down, it lays idle all night. It's just a glitch in IOS 9. Nothing serious, but something that was not there prior to IOS 9.
     
  21. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #21
    You know, what you are doing is unnecessary. iOS suspends apps automatically when you are leaving them and there is really no technical reason why you would have to close all apps. Just enjoy your phone.
     
  22. wproct thread starter macrumors 6502

    wproct

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Location:
    Iowa
    #22
    Having multiple sessions open consumes battery life. I had been advised to routinely close sessions to preserve the battery. It's not a question as to whether it is necessary or not, but rather that there is a small glitch in the IOS 9 software.
     
  23. gordon1234 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #23
    Not sure who would advise that, because it makes no sense. Apps don't "run" in the background, except under very specific circumstances, and they are only kept in memory as long as there is plenty available. Manually "quitting" them by removing them from the app switcher just forces the app to be loaded from disk every time you run it. This wastes battery by requiring unnecessary disk IO and CPU whenever you use an app. It's nothing like app management on the Desktop.
     
  24. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #24
  25. wproct thread starter macrumors 6502

    wproct

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Location:
    Iowa
    #25
    I stand corrected. I was just parroting information that I had been given when we purchased our Iphones and I see now that it was wrong. Thank you CDM for providing the article for me to read, it was very informative.
     

Share This Page