Setting new Admin password

Discussion in 'iMac' started by DonnaMarilyn, Jun 16, 2010.

  1. DonnaMarilyn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    #1
    In mid-May I purchased a new iMac. It appears I didn't create an Admin password, and now I need one to install certain programmes.

    Can anyone advise as to how to create the Admin password after the event, so to speak? A search of forum topics didn't bring up quite the answer I was hoping for.

    The closest solution I could find involves re-setting a password (i.e. the Apple online instructions), but this is for changing or re-setting a password that already exists. The problem is that I don't seem to have one at all.

    Any clarification will be much appreciated. Thanks!

    Donna
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    You have set a password, otherwise it won't let you finish the OS X install. Boot from the disk and reset it
     
  3. DonnaMarilyn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    #3
    Thanks for responding, Hellhammer. I tried the disk method, but with no luck. After I chose the language, there was no option to view a Utilities menu and choose Password reset. The installation simply continued for the next 45 minutes, leaving me as I was before. (Though I was relieved no data had been lost in the reinstallation.)

    Perhaps I'm missing something. I'll keep at it.

    Donna
     
  4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    You followed the Apple instructions (expand the "Resetting the original administrator account password" section) to the letter?
     
  5. DonnaMarilyn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    #5
    Yes, I thought I did, Robbie. It's possible, though, that I should have inserted the disc in a running machine rather than from start-up.

    However, I managed to resolve the problem in another way. When I went to System Preferences>Accounts>Change Password, the Admin password field was blank. I left that as it was and just typed in the new password. Presto! It worked.

    I hadn't tried that simple way before, as I was certain the blank field would need to be filled in with the Admin PW, which I didn't have. A seconds-long solution that took me ages to find. :eek:

    Donna
     
  6. TiffanyBee macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #6

Share This Page