Setting up a dual-screen

Discussion in 'macOS' started by angelwen99, Sep 6, 2008.

  1. angelwen99 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    #1
    I want to extend my desktop onto a 2nd screen. Do I need to change a (possibly display) setting on my iMac to be able to do this?
     
  2. kornyboy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN (USA)
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_0_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5C1 Safari/525.20)

    You may have to. Once you plug it up, open the display preferences and you will have the option to mirror or extend desktop. You will have to select to extend desktop.
     
  3. iWaldo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #3
    When I first did it with my Macbook, it was set to extend the desktop by default. However, I still had to go into the display preferences and change the positioning of the extra monitor- IIRC, it assumes the external monitor is to the left of the main monitor by default.
     
  4. K3mp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Location:
    S.E. Louisiana
    #5
    By extend desktop do you mean mirror or extend? To do so just go to system prefs<displays<detect displays. You might not be able to depending on your model. What iMac do you have?
     
  5. angelwen99 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    #6
    I have a 20" 2.66 Ghz iMac, and I do mean extend. Thanks, I'll definitely try it.:)
     

Share This Page