Setting up a Linksys Router

Discussion in 'macOS' started by NemoNeem1221, Jul 4, 2012.

  1. NemoNeem1221 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    #1
    I have an old router that belonged to my gmom and the router has a password and everything. I attached the ethernet cable to my Mac, and the router read but I typed in the password and it wasn't long enough, so it won't connect. I am guessing I have to log into the router and change the password?
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    I would just reset the router to factory defaults and start over. With the router on and no ethernet cables plugged in, press the reset button on the back for about ten seconds. You should see all the lights flash and the router will restart.

    After the router restarts connect it to your computer and modem (cable/dsl) as you normally would then go to http://192.168.1.1/ in a web browser. This should get you the default setup page where you can name the wireless network and setup a new password.
     
  3. NemoNeem1221 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    #3
    So once the router resets, and it's plugged in, even tho I won't have a connection, just open my browser and enter that address?
     
  4. Mac-Michael macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    #4
    The default login is

    username: admin
    password: admin
     
  5. Icy1007 macrumors 6502a

    Icy1007

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #5
    Actually no. The default password is admin, but there is no username. It should be left blank.

    ----------

    Yes
     
  6. NemoNeem1221, Jul 6, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2012

    NemoNeem1221 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    #6
    I've done all that, and it still won't connect to the internet. I get a signal, but nothing shows up when I open the browser.

    1. I reset the router, plugging it into my Mac with an eternet cable.

    2. Went to 192.168.1.1 and did all the settings.

    3. Network was set up, Airport reads connection, but still nothing.

    I also don't have a modem. My landlord has Comcast internet, and other connections can read, but when I log into them, I can't open any webpages.
     
  7. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #7
    I'm not following. If you don't have a modem, how are you connecting to your landlord's Comcast service with the Linksys? Where are you connecting the WAN port on the Linksys (this would normally go to the cable modem)?
     
  8. TonyK macrumors 6502a

    TonyK

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #8
    Yes, color me confused too. What are you connecting the router in to if not a provided modem?

    Otherwise it could still be a configuration issue but let's answer the other question first. :)
     
  9. mobilehaathi macrumors G3

    mobilehaathi

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Anthropocene
    #9
    Umm, I'd venture a guess that the router isn't connected to the internet. You need to clarify this....
     
  10. drambuie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #10
    I'm trying to read between the lines, but from what you said, your landlord has the internet connection with his own cable modem and router, and is distributing the internet connection. To test this, connect the internet LAN connection directly to your Mac, with it's IP set to DHCP. If this works, you'll have to set up your router as a bridge. You don't want to keep your Mac directly connected to the landlord's network, as it will be exposed to other users.
     

Share This Page