Setting up a mixer to a Macbook

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by dontlosetouch, May 12, 2009.

  1. dontlosetouch macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    #1
    Hey.

    I've got a Peavey PV10 mixer on the way so I can take a tab at some home recording stuff.

    Probably n00bish way but how would I go about linking it up to my MB?

    [​IMG]

    For example, I've got a guitar mic'd up track 1 fine, would it just be a case of getting a pair of RCA to 3.5 cables and plugging into the line in on the MB?

    So I'd be putting the RCA cables into that set up red/whites at the top and go go go?

    Thanks for any help, I'm pretty sure I'm spot on but want to know before the thing arrives.
     
  2. CalumC macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #2
    Nail. Head. Kablam. Otherwise know as yes, you're spot on.

    Obviously everything will be brought in on one track so you'll be limited to an extent when editing, but itll certainly get audio in.
     
  3. ashjamben macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Location:
    Shanghai, China
    #3
    did you buy a mixer for the sole purpose of recording?
     
  4. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #4
    Most people would want to bring in the audio as separate tracks and mix in software. With an external mixer like that you will have to mix in real time. You just be using the computer as if it were a tape machine. But if that is what you want then then yes it's a two RCA to 3.5mm TRS cable
     
  5. Ttownbeast macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    #5
    I use my Digitech BP200 multi effects pedal and Audacity to record and play my old Washburn Force 4 bass on this thing its a simple setup but it works for me of course I am poor and cheap but as a musician I would be interested to hear how your experiment works out for you.
     
  6. reese.reimers macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    #6
    That would work fine, for a while. The main problem with this setup would be the lack of control when recording. Rather than recording each track separately into your computer, you will be recording a mix of all the tracks. However, you could just use the mixer essentially as a microphone preamp and record each track individually. If this is something you are looking to get into a little more seriously I would recommend picking up a decent audio interface. I would look into the M-Box series by Digidesign. Pro Tools is an industry standard and is an extremely powerful tool. You could also use Logic, however I don't have much experience with it currently and am just telling you what I am familiar with. I would just work with what you have for now until you decide that you want to really get into this either professionally or as a serious hobby.

    Let me know if you have any other questions and I can try to answer them.
     

Share This Page