Setting up a network - Confused!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Ad Pro, Nov 18, 2007.

1. Ad Pro macrumors member

Hi, I have worked out a setup for my two macs so they both have backups and external file storage (see diagram). I have decided that I will need to set up some kind of network between the two macs but I am not really sure what to do. :confused:

View attachment 91652

I have two questions regarding setting up the network connection:

1. I believe it is possible to set up a network between the two macs using just a firewire cable. How do I go about setting this up and is there any draw backs / things I should be aware of?

2. Someone suggested setting up a Gigabit ethernet switch. Could someone please explain this in detail, tell me what it is all about, (I have very little knowledge on this) the advantages and how to set it all up. If this is the way to go could someone please tell me what I will need or give some recommendations on products.

Also any other suggestions / adjustments I could make to the above diagram to make it more efficient or faster etc.

2. admiraldennis macrumors regular

Yeah, you can do this. You'll first need to enable the FireWire network interfaces on both. This is done in System Preferences -> Network by adding another port with the 'Firewire' interface. From here, the easiest way is probably to enable internet sharing from ethernet to firewire on one machine and then simply connect the two with a Firewire cable. You can also do it by manually assigning IP addresses on the same subnet to both machines.

The drawback is that you (basically) can not have drives on the same FireWire bus (hubs, daisy-chaining, etc) as both computers will try to use it.

3. NAG macrumors 68030

NAG

Yeah, I would suggest going with option 2 to make things go the smoothest in terms of setup. Basically it works just like any old network.

4. Ad Pro thread starter macrumors member