Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

stuuke

macrumors regular
Original poster
Apr 19, 2004
I came across a service that allows you to set up a mac mini server.

http://www.macminicolo.net/

I'm a photographer and currently pay to host 3 different websites. For me the positives would be having storage off-site for important files, ability to set-up FTP downloads for customers and hosting of multiple websites. There are probably some other benefits but I don't have much experience with servers.

Has anyone set up their own server or used a service like this? Are there any negaitves or other positives I might have overlooked? Any opinions would be appreciated.

ChrisBrightwell

macrumors 68020
Apr 5, 2004
Huntsville, AL
The biggest positive is that you have *complete* control over the system and its configuration.

For simple applications, though, a good hosting account will be cheaper, more reliable, and just as adequate.

frankblundt

macrumors 65816
Sep 19, 2005
South of the border
It depends a bit on what kind of hosting deals are available to you and what kind of bandwidth you have.

I host stuff myself because the sites I host are large (300-600MB) and hosting them externally would cost me a fortune. Doing it myself works out a lot cheaper ($20:$300/month). It also means I can set the sites up as not just public resources but build admin back-end stuff on to provide private(-ish) access to high res files and so on that are handy to have available externally but wouldn't be worth it if i was paying per MB for space on someone else's server.

Setting up is pretty easy - at a basic level, you just turn on Web Sharing, that's it. Then you'll need a static IP address for your internet connection and to instruct whoever looks after your domain name to redirect it to that IP. (You can use dynamic IPs but that's slightly more complicated)