Setting up an SSD on a MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Luis Ortega, Aug 5, 2010.

  1. Luis Ortega macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Location:
    Fetcham Surrey UK
    #1
    I changed the 7200rpm hard drive in my MBP for an SSD drive, but I don't think that the computer or the OS is initially accessing it correctly.

    The time between turning on the power button and seeing the apple logo is about 15 seconds, which is worse than it was with the old drive in. That was about 5 seconds.

    Initially, the time with the SSD was 45 seconds, but after doing a reset pram and the SMC and that helped to cut it down to 15 seconds.
    These fixes lead me to think that there is something at the basic bios or OS level that may be interfering with the quick startup.

    Everything after that point is a lot faster with the SSD, including the rest of the startup and the loading of applications, but there is something going on at the initial startup that causes the process to delay.

    Any suggestions or advice would be appreciated.

    Background info:
    The drive in the laptop wasn't the original one.
    I had previously upgraded from the original 160gb 7200rpm drive that came with the MBP to a 500GB 7200rpm drive with no problems.
    I used Superduper to clone my OSX to the SSD and then put the SSD into the MBP.
    I had no technical problems along the way.
    The only difference is that the old drive had two partitions because I had Windows on Bootcamp on it and OSX, but the SSD drive is just OSX because it's not really big enough to hold both Windows and my Mac stuff.
    The MBP is a 2007 17" 2.4ghz Core 2 Duo with 4 gb ram and OSX 10.6.4
     
  2. TheBritishBloke macrumors 68030

    TheBritishBloke

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    Do you mean it cut it down to 15 seconds to boot, or 15 seconds to reach the apple logo?
     
  3. Luis Ortega thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Location:
    Fetcham Surrey UK
    #3
    15 seconds to reach the apple logo.
     
  4. Argon21 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Алейск, RUSSIA
    #4
    What kind of SSD is it? The cheaper ones are dog slow, way slower than a 7200 rpm 500 GB hard drive.
     
  5. TheBritishBloke macrumors 68030

    TheBritishBloke

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #5
    This doesn't have anything to do with the drive, as it doesn't access the drive until the spinning gears show up I believe.

    Try reinstalling the OS on the ssd again.
     
  6. Jaxdialation macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #6
    FWIW I have had the same experience installing an OWC/RE 200g

    I notice it, but it just doesn't bother me. Now way I'd mess with an OSX install.
     
  7. Luis Ortega thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Location:
    Fetcham Surrey UK
    #7
    Mine is an OWC 256gb Mercury Extreme SSD.
    I keep thinking that there is some initial glitch when the laptop starts as it looks for a different hard drive.
    I have done everything I can think of to help it out (reset PRAM, SMC, repair permissions, clear out all caches with Onyx, selected the drive in disk startup) but it only worked partially, reducing the time from 45 sec. to 15 sec between pressing the on button to seeing the apple logo.

    Everything else is faster.
    It might be that unless one does a completely fresh install from formatting the drive to OSX to all software, it won't ever be clean of old instructions that might be slowing it down, but I don't have the time right now to do that since the software I have on it takes a good 6 hours to install.
    I always do a clean install whenever I have put in a new drive in a computer before but this time I used Superduper to create a clone on the SSD and then installed it.

    Can anyone please suggest any other things that I might try, short of the obligatory complete reinstall?
     
  8. Luis Ortega thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Location:
    Fetcham Surrey UK
    #8
    Can I reinstall the OS without having to reinstall the software?
    What I have on there now is a clone of my old 7200rpm drive.
    Should I just reclone the SSD drive from my old 7200rpm drive?
    Should I try to use my snow leopard disk and my combo updater 10.6.4 and reinstall just that?
    Might reinstalling just the OS over my software cause other problems?

    From my experience with windows over many years, reinstalling the OS over existing programs was not a smart thing to do. It was always wipe out, reformat, reinstall everything, if I wanted everything to mesh well together.
     

Share This Page