Setting Up Dual Screen with Macbook Pro???

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by samb, Jul 7, 2007.

  1. samb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    #1
    Hi, I have a Macbook Pro and was thinking of buying a separate monitor, so I was using the macbook pro screen, and a separate one, maybe 19" or so.

    Could someone tell me how easy this is to do?

    Do I need to buy another graphics card? what else do I need etc??:confused:

    Thanks
     
  2. siurpeeman macrumors 603

    siurpeeman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    the OC
    #2
    all you have to do is hook up the monitor, plug it in, and it should instantly be recognized and spanning. there really isn't much to it.
     
  3. samb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    #3
    Really? thought it might have been a little more complicated.

    So basically hook up a monitor and it will run across both screens???
     
  4. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #4
    Yeah! Or hit the F7 (i think) to mirror the screen (or vicaversa)
     
  5. changhyuk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #5
    yea... just hook up the DVI cable into ur MBP and u have a dual screen
     
  6. keenkreations macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    #6
    You can also change the preferences of the monitors in System Preferences -> Displays. You will see both dialog boxes open in each seperate monitor. You can adjust resolution, colors, and even the placement of the monitors. You can also change the backgrounds so that one monitor can have a background, while the other is a completely different one. This is a lot better than the "native" support that can be found on XP boxes.
     

Share This Page