Setting Up Extreme with Express

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Hrothgar, Mar 31, 2009.

1. Hrothgar macrumors 6502

I've been using an Express as my router for about 2 years. I just bought an Extreme. Setting up the Extreme was not particularly easy -- I don't understand people who claim that Apple devices are just plugged in. I frankly think I had easier times setting up PC peripherals. But after unplugging the modem a few times, the Extreme and restarting my computer, I go the Extreme going and I'm pretty sure I switched it to be the base station for my Network.

Then I plugged the Express in again. For the life of me, I can't figure out how to add it to the Network so I can use it to stream my iTunes. When I open Airport Utilities, it recognizes the Extreme immediately, but takes a few minutes to locate the Express (which is still plugged in with a flashing amber light). I get "icons" of each on the left. If I highlight the Express, it seems to think I want to change the Express to be my main base station. I don't see any options for networking the two together or adding the Express to the Network I've already got. I tried googling, but the one Apple support article I found was a few years old and didn't seem to correspond to my version of the Utility.

Can someone help me?

2. Hrothgar thread starter macrumors 6502

Anyone? I really thought this would be an easy, common setup. I thought my Apple computer would recognize a new Apple device and simply ask what I wanted to do with it.

I did a factory reset on the Express, and now when I use Airport Utility it sees two Expresses. How do I know which one is mine and which may be my neighbor's?