Setting up g and n networking

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by mooty, Apr 27, 2008.

  1. mooty macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hi,

    I am soon to receive a new airport extreme, which I would like to run a wireless-n network through.

    However, I also have some wireless-g components (iPhone for one!) which I would like to access the network. I want to do the following:

    1) Setup the Airport Extreme as an .n wireless network only

    2) Setup my broadband router with a separate .g wireless network

    This should be fine, the Extreme will be wired to the router for WAN.

    However, both the router and the Extreme will be housed in a cupboard side by side. Will I suffer interference wise on this? What's the best thing to do? the .g network will be used very minimally, so will I only suffer on the .n network when the .g network is being used?

    Also - if I want to utilize gigabit on my Extreme, PS3 and ethernet HD - will cat 5e cable suffice, or do I need cat 6?

    Thanks all.
     
  2. fpar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #2
    For gigabit ethernet you need a cat 6 cable as cat 5e is limited to 100mb. I am not to sure about there interference, but if they are both 2.4Ghz then there maybe some. But make sure they are on different channels and try it out.
     
  3. macmekker macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Location:
    Norway
    #3
    Hi.

    Did this work out for you? I'm doing the same thing (the two in the same cupboard) and I think this is messing up the n-network. The b/g seems fine.

    So I'm searching the internet for advise.... not much so far.
     
  4. CarpetMonster macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    #4
    I've been doing this for a while. My old d-link AP set to run wireless G and the time capsule set to run at wireless N (5GHz). Both sit on the same desk with no interference.

    Oh, and cat 5e is perfectly fine for Gb.
     
  5. coopermac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    As stated by Carpetmonster, Cat 5e is suitable for gigabit ethernet and is often more easily available.

    The easiest way is to set up the separate N and b/g networks is to use an existing b/g router for the b/g devices and connect the AE by ethernet to this in bridge mode to give the N only network. Connect the ethernet cable to a LAN output on the original router and to the WAN input on the AE, allow the original router to supply all IP addresses.

    Wireless interference is always an unknown entity and depends on many factors including the individual devices, compatibility, location, other wireless devices nearby and other electrical devices, all of which can cause some form of interference. If the results do not seem as good as you expect then experiment with different setttings and locations of the devices.

    It may be, especially if the b/g devices only operate occasionaly or not at the same time as the N devices that setteng the AE to N with b/g compatibility will give better results. There are circumstances where N may give poorer connections than b/g so experiment with them until you get acceptable connections.
     
  6. numbersyx macrumors 65816

    numbersyx

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #6
    I have done this with an AEBS and an Express. Never done it with a non Apple router.

    Might try using a D-link to extend the network on N....
     

Share This Page