setting up keyboard shortcut for "show all"

Discussion in 'macOS' started by littleasian, Nov 29, 2009.

  1. littleasian macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #1
    as a student i constantly have windows open all the time. minimizing them works but sometimes its easier if i just press cmd-h or cmd-opt-h to hide windows.

    so i was wondering is there a keyboard shortcut for "show all"? or a way to make a keyboard shortcut for "show all"?

    im running 10.6.2 btw so gimme anything you got thanks
     
  2. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #2
    The "f3" key is exposé. That should show "all windows". :)
     
  3. littleasian thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #3
    i do use the expose key (or rather just 4 fingers down) but i want a keyboard shortcut so i can instantly see all of my hidden windows similar to if you went "program" > show all

    i guess no luck currently...boo
     
  4. mysterytramp macrumors 65816

    mysterytramp

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    #4
    I'm confused ... why doesn't Expose work? (On my computer, and I think it's the default, it's F9 & F10, not F3)

    mt
     
  5. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #5
    ^ expose won't show hidden windows though will it? it'll just show everything you have open and visible, but in an organised fashion.

    I don't know what you can do that will un-hide all windows at once :confused:
     
  6. mysterytramp macrumors 65816

    mysterytramp

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    #6
    You can add a key command via the Keyboard system preferences.

    mt
     
  7. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #7
    Yeah, but can you make one that does what the OP wants?

    I've never tried to use Show All. Just now, in Safari and Excel, I looked, and Show All is greyed out in both. Why?
     
  8. mysterytramp macrumors 65816

    mysterytramp

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    #8
    Safari (and Preview and Pages and TextEdit and iTunes and ...) greys out "Show all" when nothing is hidden. Hide something, and it's functional. (nice bit of UI engineering, actually. is that new in SL?) Isn't that what the OP wants?

    mt
     
  9. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #9
    Oh, yeah. Of course. So where do things go when they are hidden? Germany? ;)

    The OP(pronoun) hasn't posted in over a week, so maybe it's a moot point. I think some of the other posts may have lead me to add requirements that aren't in the OP(noun).
     

Share This Page