Setting up many apps icons - Applications folder and Launchpad interaction

Discussion in 'macOS' started by OS/4, Mar 2, 2016.

1. OS/4 macrumors newbie

I am trying to find a good efficient setup for many applications (specifically .app icons for a lot of old DOS games I have, each launching the game via DOSBox - see my previous post http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/setting-up-app-icons-for-old-dos-games-running-in-dosbox.1959361).

The word to note here is "many", hence I'm looking for a nice way to set up a hierarchy of folders.

I am fairly new to Mac OS X, but here's what I've observed so far:

* If I create a new .app and put it in the Applications directory, it magically appears in Launchpad (might be a lag of 1-2 seconds, so it seems Launchpad is polling the Applications directory).

* If I create a sub-directory and put a .app in it, it also appears in the main Launchpad window, and if I move apps around in Launchpad, e.g. put them into folders in Lanuchpad, that location has no relation to the location in the Applications directory/sub-directories.
    I conclude from that, that Launchpad also looks for apps in sub-directories of the Applications directory, but keeps its own config as to where the apps icons appear within Launchpad.
    ==> This presents my first problem - I'm happy to script the setting-up of 100+ .app files underneath Applications, but not happy to then have to drag them around manually one by one inside Launchpad to recreate that hierarchy.

My second issue is that I want to set up these .app files on a shared drive, so I've tried creating an alias (i.e. UNIX symbolic link) to that shared location, which works well when using Finder to navigate there via the Applications folder ...but, when I put an .app there, it doesn't magically appear in Launchpad.
    ==> It seems Launchpad polls Applications and sub-directories, but not aliases!