setting up MiniDP to HDMI properly

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by vong, Mar 2, 2011.

1. vong macrumors 6502a

vong

hello guys, i am having a bit of a problem with my set up.i currently have my MiniDP to HDMI hooked up to my 26" sharp hdtv. i got audio and video going through to it, but the video is not actually 100%, its now showing the title bar that is on top. (being cut off) picture of it being cut off:

[​IMG]

and this is the current configurations i have for it:

[​IMG]

any help would be appreciated!

2. iBookG4user macrumors 604

iBookG4user

Have you checked to see if overscan is currently enabled on the TV? If it is, disable overscan.

3. vong thread starter macrumors 6502a

vong

im not quite sure what you're talking about hah. sorry im a rookie at this stuff, but i went into system preferences and saw underscan but could not move the slider:

[​IMG]

4. iBookG4user macrumors 604

iBookG4user

Ah, it'd be a setting on the TV, not on the MacBook Pro! It'll usually be one of the menu options.

5. vong thread starter macrumors 6502a

vong

ah man, i do not see anything about overscaling on my tv settings lol :(, looks like it going to be stuck like this forever? i tried my MiniDP to VGA and it displays everything perfectly, just that the quality is not that great, that why i went with VGA

6. iBookG4user macrumors 604

iBookG4user

I've been looking around a bit and it appears that there should be a "dot by dot" mode on the Sharp TV. Try that and see if that fixes things.

7. vong thread starter macrumors 6502a

vong

just googled up dotbydot and it should be under my "view mode" but mine only has zoom and stretch i tried zoom but no go, stretch is what i normally leave on it

8. iBookG4user macrumors 604

iBookG4user

What is the model of your TV? Also, you might see if there's any information about overscan in the manual.

9. vong thread starter macrumors 6502a

vong

this is the model: LC26DV24U