Setting up Mobileme to host my .com domain Help??

Discussion in 'Apple Music, Apple Pay, iCloud, Apple Services' started by iWoz, Jul 30, 2009.

  1. iWoz macrumors 6502a

    iWoz

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    East Midlands, U.K
    #1
    Hi,

    Well Mobileme states..

    Add Personal Domain

    Before your iWeb site can be viewed at your personal domain, you must complete the following steps:
    Go to your registrar's website. Define web.me.com as the "www" CNAME (alias) for your domain.

    If you need help creating a CNAME, contact your registrar.
    Return to this page and click Done.


    Your registrar can take up to 48 hours to update your domain


    Now I went into my Verio control panel to do this and have the following:

    [​IMG]



    I forgot to add it does give me an option at the bottom to add more. However I get this error message..

    Please correct the following errors and resubmit.
    Bad record:www.giftwrappedmemories.com. 8640 IN CNAME web.me.com.giftwrappedmemories.com. Invalid CNAME
    Bad record:giftwrappedmemories.com. 8640 IN CNAME web.me.com.giftwrappedmemories.com. Invalid CNAME


    Can someone tell me which one I need to change exactly?

    Many Thanks
     
  2. Sonicjay macrumors 6502a

    Sonicjay

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #2
    take .giftwrappedmemories.com off the end of web.me.com in both CNAME entries
     
  3. iWoz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iWoz

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    East Midlands, U.K
    #3
    I received an error message when doing that so I contacted Verio who informed me they cant actually do that unless I have the nameservers for Mobileme. So I have now transferred my domain to godaddy who i believe can do it using "CNAME" Just have to wait for 60 days now :(
     
  4. paulbeattie87 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    #4
    Hmm thats strange iWoz. A CNAME or Canonical Name is basically a redirect, when a computer does a look-up on www.giftwrappedmemories.com it will be returned a text based address rather than an IP. The text entry in this case returned is web.me.com, the computer will then look-up web.me.com and I should imagine gets an IP back this time.

    Asking for NS or Name Servers means that all DNS management would be provided via MobileMe, this is not the case. I cant understand why they would have told you this, most hosting packages prefer to point to their name servers but it's not a requirement by any means.

    Post back if you don't have any luck with GoDaddy, it really is a simple procedure.
     
  5. Sonicjay macrumors 6502a

    Sonicjay

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #5
    60 days?? For what?
     
  6. heather e macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    #6
    same problem

    Hi all.

    I'm having the same problem described by iWoz. I am using Verio. Unlike iWoz's experience, when I called tech support they didn't tell me that what I'm trying to do is impossible -- they explained me to me how to enter web.me.com as a CNAME in my DNS control panel. I've now done that, or tried to do it, repeatedly; I'm entering "web.me.com." as they instruct (that is, using a period at the end of the name). And I get the same error message that iWoz got. Apple says it's Verio's problem; Verio says the CNAME that Apple gave me (us) is invalid. Aside from switching to GoDaddy, which I gather solved iWoz's problem, can anyone offer a solution?

    Thanks
    Heather
     

Share This Page