Setting up New iMac and Home Network.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Baja-Skunkworks, Dec 8, 2009.

1. Baja-Skunkworks macrumors newbie

OK so our house has been set-up with a basic PC network for the past couple of years. We have a central PC in the office, a couple of wireless laptops and a wired switch in the living room for the DVR, X-Box 360 (used as a media center), PS3, etc...

This fall i decided to take the plunge into the world of Apple. I picked up an 27" I7 iMac which will replace our central office PC. I also picked up and iTV which will replace the X-Box 360 as a media center. I have been researching various technologies for the last month or so. I think that I have been able to define my general requirements and have even made decisions on the hardware that I have/intend to purchase. I would like some feedback on this setup as this is more advanced than what I am used to and I am a total newb with Apple products.

My requirements are defined bellow

1. Setting up the iMac to be a fast and effecient app machine
    -running windows for previously owned engineering software
    -editing movies and photos
    -graphic design
    2. Setting up a centralized NAS media server
    3. Setting up a centralized NAS Back-Up server
    4. Maximizing media sharing throughout the home/network.

1. I love to tinker and try to make things better. As well equiped as the I7 is I still have the urge to mod it. I picked up 4Gb additional RAM to bring it up to 8Gb. I also picked up an Intel INSSD160GB25 160GB X25-M SSD which I will replace the 1Tb HD with. This will be my boot/app drive. I Also picked up an external Firewire 800 HD case for the 1Tb drive. This will be directly connected to the iMac and be used as basically a data folder where everything is saved/dumped/pulled to and from the iMac.