Setting Up New MBA - Restore from Time Machine or Mac-to-Mac migration?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Caolan96, Oct 24, 2010.

  1. Caolan96 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Location:
    Derry, Northern Ireland, UK
    #1
    Hi All,

    So I've ordered my new 13" Macbook Air (2.13 GHz, 4GB RAM, 256GB Flash) and I'm wondering the best way to transfer data from my 13" MBP?

    Which would be the best : Mac-To-Mac migration (via ethernet with the attached adapter) or Restore from Time Machine?

    I'm worried about compatibility issues with restoring from time machine, or migration all together, and was contemplating setting it up as a brand new machine, but that would be extremely time consuming.

    Also because I have iLife '09 on my MBP will that replace iLife '11 on my MBA? :(

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    Thanks,
    Caolán. :D
     
  2. hachre macrumors 6502a

    hachre

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #2
    You need to use the Migration assistant. Restoring from Time Machine is not viable because the Air will run a newer version of Mac OS than your backup.

    There are no compatibility issues. Worst case is some programs won't run without installing them again first. But your settings etc will be there.
     
  3. Caolan96 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Location:
    Derry, Northern Ireland, UK
    #3
    okay, what about the different versions of iLife etc, how will that be affected?

    Thanks for the help btw. :)
     
  4. hachre macrumors 6502a

    hachre

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #4
    The migration assistant will put your data into place and not replace your iLife programs with the older versions. When you start your new versions they will do a one time upgrade on your data.

    No problem ;)
     
  5. tigres macrumors 68040

    tigres

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Land of the Free-Waiting for Term Limits
    #5
    I plan on using TM, as my old MBA will ship out before my bto arrives. As far as different OS's are concerned- they will both be running 10.6.4. The only capability issues is iLife, which I can just re-install.
     
  6. hachre macrumors 6502a

    hachre

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #6
    Apple usually has newer builds of Mac OS running on new hardware...
     
  7. Caolan96 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Location:
    Derry, Northern Ireland, UK
    #7
    oh thank god, sounds a lot less daunting now :)
    now I just have to wait 'til this baby comes, im gonna be like a 4 year old on christmas morning. :p

    The new airs are running 10.6.5 :/
     
  8. tigres macrumors 68040

    tigres

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Land of the Free-Waiting for Term Limits
    #8
    So are you saying that TM cannot restore this new MBA from an old one?
     
  9. hachre macrumors 6502a

    hachre

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #9
    The resulting restored OS might not boot on the Air. You have to use the migration assistant to transfer the data... Or you can try it and hope it works after all... But you really need to upgrade to 10.6.5 asap then... I hope it will be released 'for the rest of us' soon.
     
  10. tigres macrumors 68040

    tigres

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Land of the Free-Waiting for Term Limits
    #10
    I have access to it on my dev account.
    I will install, but it's beta- so how can they be shipping osx beta's with these machines?
     
  11. hachre macrumors 6502a

    hachre

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #11
    They always do that. Often it is declared as last final version but the build number is increased. This time they seem to have shipped 10.6.5 with a lower build number than the final will have.

    You have to hope it boots up after the restore... Otherwise you can't use your TM backup at all. You need to restore it onto another Mac then, install the 10.6.5 beta there (I'm not sure the beta includes the Air stuff yet!), backup again, and then use the new backup to restore to the Air.
     
  12. dokindo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    #12
    If I have a time machine backup on a USB drive (from an older MBA) can I use this with migration assistant on the new MBA? Sorry for the dumb question. If possible, I thought this might be a better option than a wifi transfer.
     
  13. tigres macrumors 68040

    tigres

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Land of the Free-Waiting for Term Limits
    #13
    Let me get this straight:

    Install the beta on my RevB. Backup, and hope for the best.
    Or: restore another iMac that I have, Install the beta- then do a migration? or can I do a migration w/out the beta on the iMac, just from the restore from TM?

    Thx.
     
  14. hachre macrumors 6502a

    hachre

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #14
    If you have another Mac available you can restore your MBA onto it and then migrate from there. That will work.

    I just learned btw that it doesn't ship with Mac OS 10.6.5 but it ships with a higher than final build of 10.6.4 - as usual. So the same things I previously said still apply.
     
  15. hachre macrumors 6502a

    hachre

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #15
    You need to use the migration assistant. You can not use Time Machine to restore... (Unless you wait until 10.6.5 is final)
     
  16. grandeamericano macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    #16
    using superduper

    hmmm... i was planning to just use a disk image from my 15" macbook pro i'm migrating from. it's running 10.6.4. will this work? a good idea?
     
  17. hachre macrumors 6502a

    hachre

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #17
    No this is the same as restoring from Time Machine. It won't work because it downgrades the OS on the Air to a version that doesn't know the hardware yet.
     
  18. grandeamericano macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    #18
    that sucks.
    hm. how about duping the disk and then reinstalling 10.6.5 from the usb stick.
     
  19. hachre macrumors 6502a

    hachre

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #19
    Good idea! That would probably work, yes... It might even work to just dupe it - I'm just saying it's a risk. It might not boot... But if you overwrite it afterwards with the stick that should fix everything..

    And btw:
    I just learned btw that it doesn't ship with Mac OS 10.6.5 but it ships with a higher than final build of 10.6.4 - as usual. So the same things I previously said still apply. Let's call it 10.6.4+ ;)
     
  20. valereee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    #20
    new macbook air, restoring from time machine =now=?

    I have a macbook air ordered and was assured by folks at apple that I'd have no problems restoring from my time machine to the new air...maybe it's just that something's changed since this thread was started?
     
  21. hachre macrumors 6502a

    hachre

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #21
    Yes, as long as your old Mac has 10.6.5 installed and backed up to the Time Machine you won't have problems...
     

Share This Page