Setting up two internet connections on a macpro server

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by OCICILIONI, May 20, 2012.

  1. OCICILIONI macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #1
    I would like to know how to set up two separate internet connections on a MacPro server.

    I run a medical practice with 9 workstations that connect to a MacPro server for access to the database. They are fed internet connections through the office server network which is guarded by a firewall (Watchdog) for security.

    My problem is that my unit only has access to a slow DSL with an upload speed of .4 mbs. Fiberoptic and cable connections are not available The download speed is 7 mbs, which is adequate for the workstations.

    To connect to my office from outside locations utilizing a VPN or Log Me In type software, I need faster upload speeds, in excess of 1 mbs

    I am wanting to use one port on the MacPro server for the office network, and the second to exclusively set up a VPN connection with a mobile hot spot, such as the Verizon or ATT 4G LTE. This would then be used to access the server from my home location.

    I do not want to utilize the 4G LTE as my sole internet connection for the entire offices' 9 workstations, because the monthly data plans are limited to 5 GB.
     
  2. ezramoore macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Location:
    Washington State
    #2
    Do you have a firewall appliance, or is watchdog some software you are running on your Mac Pro?
     
  3. OCICILIONI thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #3
    Re: Watchdog

    Watchdog is the name of the firewall appliance that protects my network. It has its own software management system
     
  4. ezramoore macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Location:
    Washington State
  5. OCICILIONI thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #5
    re: software

    Yes. I have a 12 core MacPro running OSX Server with Lion.
     

Share This Page