Setting up two routers

Discussion in 'macOS' started by thesdx, Dec 24, 2007.

  1. thesdx macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    #1
    I have a pretty big house with 4 floors, which makes it hard just to use one router. My Linksys isn't reaching the top floor or outside very well. I got a D-Link off of eBay, and was wondering if it would be possible to plug it into my iMac (receiving wireless from the Linksys) and extend the range of my router. It seems like I could probably change some setting in the Network prefs that would share my internet connection through an ethernet cable. Is that possible?
     
  2. kaiwai macrumors 6502a

    kaiwai

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Location:
    Christchurch
    #2
    The first router should allow IIRC network extender, the second router will log onto the first router, and your iMac then logs onto the second router.
     
  3. thesdx thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    #3
    I'm not very good with networking. What's IIRC? How would I go about doing this?
     
  4. kaiwai macrumors 6502a

    kaiwai

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Location:
    Christchurch
    #4
    Wouldn't have a clue; you would need to read your manuals as it is router specific. All I know is with AEBS, its a matter of a couple of clicks.
     
  5. ethernet76 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    #5
    I tried this and unfortunately it never worked.

    I believe there are limits to what that little check box can do.

    What are the IPs of the ethernet adapter and second router showing up as?
     
  6. kaiwai macrumors 6502a

    kaiwai

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Location:
    Christchurch
    #6
    The solution is, get a smaller house :)
     
  7. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #7
    High speed:
    You need to set up 1 router as a regular router.
    I would run an ethernet cable to the second router, and set up the second router as wireless access point (using the 1st router for all network settings, and just serves wifi).

    No ethernet cable:
    1 router as router
    the other router as signal extender / repeater.

    If you want to get fancier, you can get external antenna, either directional or omni-directional, depends on your needs and IF your router can take external antenna.

    Otherwise, have you tried Airport Extreme? It's got a really long range, although probably no consumer wireless router can cover the whole of a 4 story house.
     
  8. thesdx thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    #8
    That sounds like a good idea, however, do you mean purchase a seperate signal extender, or is there a way I can use my D-Link to extend the range of the Linksys?
     
  9. ethernet76 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    #9
    Nah. Get linux and learn iptables.
     
  10. kaiwai macrumors 6502a

    kaiwai

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Location:
    Christchurch
    #10
    Why have a big house? line the pockets of the power company heating the damn thing every winter. I'd rather go small and have better wireless reception :)
     
  11. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #11
    Since no one here apparently knows how to solve your problem I thought I'd try and help.

    You need to setup your second router as a Bridge, otherwise known as a WDS (wireless distribution system) setup. Basically the second router needs to be an access point and by doing this you are creating a second gateway on your home LAN. This means you can bounce your first routers wireless signal off the second wireless router.

    Instructions:
    http://www.downloadsquad.com/2006/1...ween-a-wireless-router-and-an-airport-expres/

    NOTE: That link isn't exactly what you need but I hope you are savvy enough to get the idea. It generally requires that you have a router is capable of being an Access Point, and/or work with being a WDS router. This amount of info should provide you with what you need to Google your way to solving your predicament. Believe me, you can achieve what you are asking to do, but it requires medium effort and know-how.
     

Share This Page