Setting up unlocked original iPhone with T-Mobile

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by timelord726, Jun 20, 2009.

  1. timelord726 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    #1
    Up until today, half my family had original iPhones and half had iPhone 3G's. The 3G people just upgraded to the 3G S, meaning the original folks now have the 3G's and the original iPhones are now going spare. I've unlocked one of them with the intent of giving it to a friend.

    Can anyone point me in the direction of guides/how-to's/FAQs explaining:

    1) How to set up an unlocked iPhone running 3.0 to work with T-Mobile US
    (the phone is already unlocked but I assume it isn't as simple as just dropping his SIM in)

    2) What T-Mobile plans will work with the original iPhone
    (he currently has a Motorola RAZR V3 on T-Mobile; I assume he'll need to change to a different plan for full iPhone functionality)

    Thanks for any help!
     
  2. dontwalkhand macrumors 601

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #2
    LG RAZR? Last I checked RAZRs were made by Motorola.

    Also, that aside, just start up Pwnage Tool on your Mac, for 3.0, download the latest 3.0 firmware, and "pwn the iPhone". Make sure BootNeuter boxes are checked, and this will unlock the iPhone.

    For plans, there are many options available, I went all out when it came to plans for my 3 Lines. 24.99 Web2Go Plan, and 1,000 Family Share minutes with MyFaves, Unlimited family text messages at 9.99 promo price from years back.

    The reason I went with T-Mobile instead of AT&T was so I could use MyFaves while still having the nice capability of GSM (iPhone usage)
     
  3. timelord726 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    #3
    Apologies. Hands working faster than brain.

    As I said above, unlocking was no problem. The phone is already unlocked and ready to go. I'm just not sure what to do from here as far as if I just put the SIM in, whether I have to configure anything on the phone, what plan to tell him to get, etc.

    Okay. The impression I'm getting is that plans are very flexible. Pretty much anything will work as long as it has a data component, correct?
     
  4. dontwalkhand macrumors 601

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #4
    Correct, if he really does not care about data usage however, all you have to do is not subscribe to one, and the iPhone will just tell you "You are not subscribed to a cellular data service" when he tries to activate one of the features that uses data....he can still use Wi-Fi for these features..just make sure you do not have an APN entered, if you want the messages to remain, as to not confuse him.

    And if the iPhone is already unlocked, but it doesn't have 3.0, I suggest you do that first. If it already has 3.0, then just slide the SIM in, and enter internet2.voicestream.com or epc.tmobile.com on the APN Internet settings, and you're good to go.
     
  5. timelord726 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    #5
    Understood. I'm sure he will be interested in data usage, though, so we'll have to take a look and plan this out. From what you're saying, though, it sounds like we can just pop his existing SIM in there without any change to his plan and just start using it. We can refine the plan to meet his needs later on and not rush to have that done before he starts using the phone.

    Yup, the phone is already on 3.0 and fully unlocked. This is exciting — I'll update him on what I've learned and get this process started tomorrow. You've been extremely helpful, thank you very much!
     
  6. timelord726 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    #6
    It really was just as easy as you said. Took the unlocked phone, dropped in his SIM card, and it just worked. Surprisingly Apple-like for a hacked device. :cool:

    Thanks again for your help.
     
  7. dontwalkhand macrumors 601

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #7
    I know, also if you call T-Mobile, they even have a hacked iPhone/unlocked phones department to help you out. Just call T-Mobile and ask for Tier 3 PDA Support.
     
  8. jhazy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    #8
    Ultrasnow

    Hey there, I thought that all 3G 3.0 users had to wait for Ultrasnow to unlock it? My iPhone is already jailbroken with redsnow. Is there a way to unlock it without having to use ultrasnow?
     
  9. theITGuy macrumors 6502a

    theITGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Location:
    chasing the ghost in the machine
    #9
    Sold by 1st gen today...I can confirm it worked with 3.0, unlocked with redsnow, using 19.99$ data plan from T-Mo, using "internet2.voicestream.com" on the APN settings...

    Cheers.

    -J.-
     

Share This Page